Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Budget hotel close to the center

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The hotel is, essentially, two or three connected apartments in a residential building. The location is close to two metro stations, and is within walking distance from Puerta del Sol and other attractions of the old center. The area is very lively at night, but the hotel itself is on a fairly quiet street. The room and the rest of the hotel were immaculately clean and well maintained. The owner is very nice and helpful. The biggest problem was noise from the neighboring rooms: the shower in the next room sounded as if it was right under the bed. Given how late Madrid is as a city, someone was always taking a shower way past our bedtime. The hotel occupies floors 3 and 4 of the building and does not have an elevator. It was not a problem for us, but could be for other people, especially those with lots of luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great Room in a Great Location

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Extremely clean room in a perfect location for touring the city. The local neighborhood is great for restaurants and bars. Easy walk to the more tourist spots. Very close to Metro. The hallway into building is a little off-putting but the hostal space is excellent, despite having to walk up three flights of stairs to my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well maintained hotel in a great part of town

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Nice recently renovated rooms and really nice bathrooms.
Cons: No elevator but it is a very nice very old building so I don't anticipate that will change soon.
Location: Lots of restaurants and Gran Via is a short walk away.
Very friendly staff in this thoroughly renovated building. However no elevator so only sign up if you can carry your own bags up several flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good value hotel with a friendly host

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Location: Great area for tapas bars and places to drink in the evening. 20 mins walk from the tourist centre, and under 5 mins walk to the nearest metro stop.
The hotel is in a great location and is good value for money. Our host was really helpful, speaking good English, and giving us lots of ideas of places to visit while in Madrid. The room was regularly cleaned with fresh towels provided each day. Toiletries provided were basic, and there was no holder for the shower head which made it a little bit awkward to use. Not all the rooms have balconies or patios as stated on the Expedia site, and as has been mentioned in previous reviews there is no lift. However, for the price paid this hotel was a good pick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Best value for the money hostel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Very friendly staff, great location, central but quiet, nice rooms and very clean and frequent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Close to the centre

Posted May 26, 2015
Close to the centre. Very near to metro and easy access to main places of interest. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Hostal very clean and well equipped. Not suitable for people who have mobility issues as there are a lot of stairs. Will return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Wales

Fairly central, very clean and newish..

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Fairly central.Near metro stations. Easy to get to Gran Via/Sol. Renovated recently. Very clean rooms. Sparkingly clean bathroom with very good shower
Cons: Stone/tiled floors are noisey. Rooms near reception suffer from guest noise.
Location: Off a major shopping street that leads to Gran Via & central Madrid. I went to a jazz club El Junco nearby. "In Dreams" cafe/bar nearby.
Easy to wqalk to Gran Via & Sol and round the corner from Tribunal metro, short walk from Alonso Martinez metro. It looks a bit dark from the outside & the wide foyer & staircase had shabby carpet but once inside this hostal you can see it's recently been renovated & is very smart & clean. Stone/tiled floors mean noise travels. My room opened into the reception point area so I had noise from guests checking in too. Someone wrote it's a quiet area. Well, on a weekend stay I had lots of male & female screaming outside but that's Madrid for you:) I didn't find the owner as friendly as others had. He demanded the money up front but I had still to get to the ban at that point. On my last night there he was not around after I came in from eating/walking at 6pm but he knocked on my door at 11pm to ask for money. I must look like the sort of bad guy who does a 4am flit... He came into my room the next morning when I was in the bathroom, even though I told him I would be leaving at noon. Hmmm. For a pretty central hostal the price was fine & the newness and sparkling cleanliness of the room, especially the bathroom (small tub and good shower) made up for any other factors. Hostal was happy to store luggage after check-out - which on a very rainy Sunday with an evening flight home was a welcome thing. I was travelling solo but had a twin bed room. Comfortable bed. Flat screen TV - not a "smart" TV as others state. After I left i realised he had not provided the receipt for my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goa

Would love to go back again!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
A very good hotel in terms of hygiene and cleanlimess. It is centrally located and even though my husband and I are over 65 years old we found it very easy to get around. The owner too is extremely good and helpful. He even carried our suitcases down the two floors himself. If we ever go back again to Madrid we'll opt for this hotel and no other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paco from Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Affordable, easy to find hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms. At this price point it's hard to beat.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The Hotel is located in a busy area of Madrid, a walking distance from the Plaza Colon, Gran Via and Puerta del Sol.
The Hotel is located in an older area of Madrid. However it is easily accessible via the metro from the Barajas airport with only 1 transfer. The Hotel common areas were very clean and the room was impeccable. The staff was friendly and spoke Spanish & English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good price, excellent place stay

Posted Jun 1, 2014
experience was fantastic owner was very helpful .