Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Basic, unfriendly hostel, extremely well located

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The cleaning service were fantastic. The room was cleaned to a 5* standard & the cleaners were actually friendlier than most reception staff.
Cons: Re-train staff, nobody likes a bad first impression. Renovate the rooms and refresh the furnishings. Also, no extra hidden charges.
Location: The location really is great, basically 1 minute to Gran Via and Callao. Some cute smaller shops are restaurants nearby as well as Gymage rooftop
I got off to a bad start with a rude welcome from an older gentleman at reception. Not a word of English spoken (luckily I have some basic Spanish or I would have been completely lost) No welcome/Hola/smile, just a card shoved in front of me to fill in personal details (in Spanish). Their website states they speak English & French... I booked a double room, as my boyfriend was arriving later that night. The gentleman couldn't understand this & barked "uno, uno!". The hostel 'base rate' for my room is listed as for TWO guests. When my boyfriend & I arrived home later I was made pay another €10 for the privilege of him staying in our double room each night. The ladies at reception on other days were friendlier, but still no English spoken. The rooms are decent sized for a hostel but have very basic & with dated furnishings. Hostel is in need of a complete refresh. The windows are obviously original features and it is extremely loud at night time and early morning. The check-out time is listed as 12:00 on my booking, however it was 11.30am. Otherwise, great central location in a quiet side street, just a minute from the shops of Gran Via and Callao. The room had a nice view of the church across the street & the cleaning staff were fantastic. If you have 0 Spanish & the patience to shop around a bit, do it. You'll find far better service and standards and hopefully no hidden extra charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Very clean

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Close to Callow plaza not far from most of the city
Good location, very clean, bring earplugs, the street can be very noisy, it is in the medieval part of town, narrow streets, no sound dampening. Amenities: really none, I stayed 8 nights, but I was ok with what I got. A microwave in a common area would be really good. Catholic heaven: from my balcony there were two different Catholic churches within 150 feet . The closest one is only open on Sunday for mass. I enjoyed it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What's important to you?

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is cheap, clean and central, but it reeks of smoke (because the owners smoke up the hallway) and the bars below make enough noise until 6am on a weekend that you will not sleep. My room was ensuite but the TV small; one proprietor was friendly, the other not. You have to buzz in, and leave your key where anyone in the lobby could reach it, so you can't leave anything of value in your room. The hosts could change much of this (not all of it), but they choose not to. If you can pay more, do for more comfort. If you can't, well, at least it's clean and ensuite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend in Madrid

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
If you are staying for the weekend make sure you get a room for the interier of the buliding toward the court yard. There are lots of people in the street and it´s hard to sleep if you have a room looking to the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Old style

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Well their managing system is old. The owners are very demanding.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
small room can hardly move about
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Central location in fun and lively neighborhood

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
First time in Madrid, very happy with chosen area and hotel. Hotel stretches across 2nd floor of a beautifully maintained, classic old building. Everyone delightfully friendly. Ones beyond-basic grasp of Spanish and a few smiles went an awfully long way, both in the hotel and everywhere else. I never understand the patronising aggression of reviewers on this site who expect everyone to speak English in other countries and expect to be able to do/eat/order/buy xyz just as they do back home -- you want it to be like Las Vegas, then just go to Las Vegas people. Yes, the hotel is in a somewhat boisterous, young, fun Malasaña area, so there is often street noise until the early hours. But that's because that's how Madrid works and the area is a warren of narrow little streets with bars and restaurants and independent boutiques, and is in addition very clearly a real neighborhood where people live and families are to be found. One imagine things calm down at night as winter kicks in. Hotel walls are a bit thin, however, though the person next to me realized their TV volume was a bit loud after not too long. Rooms have high ceilings and tall, tall windows with shutters and little balconies - the charm is genuine. Would happily return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Pablo from USA

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Very nice hotel very near to the Callao

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The rooms were clean and and comfortable and even had air condition. I stayed the first night in a quiet room before asking to stay two more nights. The room I was then give had a very nice view of the church but was also very noisy at night because it is an area where many go to bars etc. however, this was not a problem for me at all and I found it to be very comfortable.