Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DUMP!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: absolutely nothing!
Cons: everything. the workers attitudes, the cleanliness, having safes that work, new air conditioners and the list goes on and on and on....
Location: good location. near city center.
This place was an absolute dump. There are so many better places for a couple of bucks more. You are not allowed to take your key when you leave. You have to leave it at the front desk. The workers don't speak a word of English. You have to be buzzed up every time you enter. The air conditioning units smelled like old mildew. I will give them credit that it was near the city center. The rooms are the size of a small box. You have to pay 1 euro to use the safe (what is that about?). the key didn't even work. Mind you, this all happened to us in the first 15 minutes of checking in. My wife and I immediately left and found a much better hotel Stay at the the Vincii 66 Grand Via. It was a few bucks more night but it was truly a 4 star hotel. What an absolute disgrace this hostal esmeralda is. Anyone who raves about this place must live like animals at home. We never say at hostels by the way. A friend recommended it so we booked it on location. The place was a filthhole and the walls looked like they were eroding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague

Very central location

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I only stayed one night and it was ok, the location is very good if you want to have a base to explore the city center. I recommend this hotel for people who would like to experience Madrid's night life as well, otherwise it's pretty impossible to sleep (at least during the weekend) due to the background noise of the people who are partying everywhere on that street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, New York City, NY

Excellent location and very good service.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Everything was good.
Location: It is in a safe location. Steps away from a square with a lot of activities. Close to shopping mall, other shops, museums, tour bus stop, etc.
Excellent location and very good service. Staff was always helpful. Room was clean. Beds were comfortable. We had balcony facing the street. Nice view. We enjoyed our stay, and if ever going back to Madrid I definitely will stay in Esmiralda.
4 out of 5
by teresa from beaverton,Oregon

perfect location

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the helpful and friendly staff. Location was great but a little noisy because of the bars and restaurants. Would stay again but maybe ask for a room not on the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn. New York

Noisy

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pictures can be so deceiving. I was terribly disappointed with receptionists rude to my daughter, apparently you better know to say....."room 205"...when you ring to be allowed back in. Oh yeah you have to leave your key each time you leave. the hot water was turned off and there were shouting in the hall from the guests and the male receptionist. I do believe in the saying....you get what you pay for........
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Plaza del Sol

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
This hitel is wonderfully located. The ensuite rooms are clean and very well maintained. Staff members are always helpful. Being English in a Spanish speaking famiky hotel did mean we were unable to enjoy the relaxed conversation that is sometimes helpful to a traveller - where to go, what is recommended etc. Our room was relatively small by our standards - little space around the bed - which was very comfy. The bathroom worked! Hot water, flushing toilets - no hassles. Being so close to the Plaza del Sol meant a lot of noise til about 6am. The double glazing helps - kept the windows closed. Two lovely balconies but too noisy to open the windows. Our lack of Spanish meant we were unable to request a quiet room. Overall well located to everything - but ask for a quiet room!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Explore Madrid by foot

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location to explore Madrid by foot. You can reach most of the attractions from that place just walking for 10 - 30 minutes. It is good value for the money. It is not a quiet street at night if the quietness is your priority.
3 out of 5
by TABear from Vancouver Canada

One block from Puerta del Sol

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
Location was great, close to many bars, restaurants & shopping, room was overpriced for quality of facilities... tiny room, no room to turn around in bathroom etc. We stayed in a similar but much nicer Hostal nearby on C. Fuencarral for 15% less the previous week. My advice is to look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by RMS from Houston, TX

Not bad, but not great.

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
When I was searching for hotels, I wanted a hotel that was cheap and in central Madrid. With this hotel, I got that. It was a great price and literally at "kilometer 0" right in the center of Madrid. What I didn't expect was that the hostal would be rather uncomfortable - small, which I expected - but the towels were bricks. Literally - it was painful to dry my body off and impossible to use as a face towel. Also, beware that you will be required to leave your room key at the front desk when you're not in the room - and it's possible that even though the reception desk is technically open 24/7, its likely nobody will be there. And if they are there, they probably won't be able to speak any English. My husband and I had to even search for a map before going out to the city. On the flipside, if you want to be near clubs and bars, this is it. You could hear street noise most of the night - until about 6am or so. That wasn't so bad, but you could also smell the cigarette smoke coming through the windows - being pregnant, that annoyed me a bit. The city tour bus also drops very very close, which was really convenient and there were plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from very close by. I'd recommend this hostal only if you understand what you're getting yourself into and are prepared with your own towels and pillows (they only provide one for an entire double bed!)