Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockland, NY

Great location

Posted May 12, 2017
We were at the center of the city, across the street and up the stairs we were in Plaza Mayor. Up the block & we were at the Mercado de Miguel. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. The hotel managers were very informative and nice. would stay there again and highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

handy over night stop

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Handiness.
Cons: Double bed
Staff very helpful. a handy , cheap place to stay in the city.
5 out of 5
by Al

La Macarena is my home in Madrid.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hostal La Macarena is a small, comfortable, affordable hotel in a beautiful old building in Madrid. Personal service and old world charm along with modern services and location, location, location make it my preferred hotel in madrid since 1988.
5 out of 5
by Urszula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Good location and great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Excellent location. Very friendly people

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Stone's throw away from plaza mayor
Everything was as advertised. The location was good. People were nice. Lots of things to do nearby
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Love this hotel. Great location! Walking distance from almost everywhere that is a "must-see" place in Madrid city center. Their reception staff Daniel was most helpful in advising where to eat, places to visit and which transportation to best take. Would definitely recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Thank you our very lovely stay at your hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Could not be more central

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, lift.
Cons: Bathroom could do with a bit of attention.
Location: Location excellent. Adjacent to Plaza Mayor, Mercado San Miguel etc.
Good base for exploring Madrid. At the same time, at the front of the hotel it can be very noisy at night between revellers, taxis and bin lorries - 3 a.m. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spit

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Great location, lovely staff, room very clean, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was a little on the small side