Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by floyd from usa

great location, small rooms/showers

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleased with my stay here. I stayed 3 nights and the room was clean, comforrtable, and in a great location. The room and shower were small, the shower particularly small, but not bad. Especially for one. The difference in the price from a weekend to weekday was considerable. Depending on the price, i would stay here again if i were traveling without my family. The front desk service and staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Nashville

Nice location in popular area of Madrid

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Three nights, reasonable for Friday and Sunday, 3 times as much for Saturday. Might be normal but could be because of the tens of thousands there for the gay pride parade (surprise). Easy access, safe, comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Small but perfectly formed

Posted May 24, 2016
I stayed for 4 nights at Hostal Las Fuentes. My room was small, but it was immaculately clean with nice bed linen, a good good shower and good heating. I didn't try the breakfast. The staff were very helpful and let me leave my luggage for the day as I had a late flight out of Madrid. It was really great value for money and the Hostal was only a minute's walk away from the Opera metro. Couple of things to note, it took me a while to realise that there is a remote in your room to turn off the coloured LED lights when you want to sleep. The safe in my room required you to use a 1 euro coin to lock it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel, especially for the price point

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Great location, hospitable staff, good security (every entry point could only be accessed by keycard)
Cons: The elevator is sketchy; don't take it unless you have to. Spotty Wifi.
My husband and I arrived in Madrid on an overnight flight from the East Coast of the USA. Check in wasn't till noon but they let us keep our luggage there, which was really accommodating of them. When we came back at noon, our originally intended room wasn't ready but they gave us one that was. Staff is really nice. Our sheets had stains on them but they were swapped the next day for cleaner sheets, and housekeeping cleaned our room daily and kept it in pretty nice condition. The room averaged to about $72/night. Really not bad for a hotel right next to Opera, Plaza Mayor, and Puerta del Sol. Decent amenities. Hair dryer, some toiletries, flat screen TV, free wifi. Drinks from the minibar fridge cost 1.25 Euro. The bathroom and bathtub are tiny (but then again, I'm used to American hotels). On the advice of other reviewers, I avoided the breakfast, so I can't speak to the quality of that. But there are a lot of great places to eat nearby (including the famous Chocolatería San Gines).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean & Central Location

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Hotel staff friendly and knowledgeable. Centrally located. Clean with all the basics.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

clean, quiet, comfortable, extremely well located

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: great location, quiet and clean
Cons: the rooms are very small
Location: It's located right in the center of everything-couldn't be better.
It was clean and comfortable. Very good showers. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The rooms are small-to-very-small, but adequate. The location is excellent.
5 out of 5
by Donald from ontario

Newly renovated and so cosy.

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the location, close to restaurants and food. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to see in Madrid. The room we made was newly renovated and so cosy. This was one of the cleanest hotels we ever stayed in! We would return to stay there. charming!
3 out of 5
by Jose Harry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: proximity and staff
Cons: elevator is too old and can only carry 1 person at a time, with luggage, it's very lame
Location: everything, just guess
Enjoyed my stay here being so close to so many subway stations. Also, a bunch of stuff to do within walking distance. the only disappointment I had was the room was tiny. Staff was nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Not fancy but a good location

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: The locality to del sol which is close to the action. It's clean and comfortable without the frills.
Cons: Offering drinks service or something else upon arrival.
Location: Visit the Cathederal, walk along del sol (street)
This is a comfortable basic hotel in an excellent location. It is very clean and quiet so if you're looking for something to just sleep and wash and spend your time exploring Madrid this is the place. It is good vale for money, staff are very nice too.