Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by rolando

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
it was ok,but wifi and tv was not working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The Hostal is in a great location close to Plaza Mayor, Plaza Del Sol, and the Royal Palace. Use the call button on the right side of the front door doorframe - Hostal Luz is not easily identified. The elevator is only about 18 inches wide, but will accommodate most luggage. The Hostal is on the fourth floor (American way of counting floors, but the third floor in the European system - punch the button for "3" for the elevator). Once you get into the Hostal itself, the atmosphere is bright and cheerful with pale yellow walls and light colored floor tiles. The bathroom in my private room was large with a shower although the bedroom is not large and there is little room to place your luggage if not on one of the two beds. Rooms are cleaned well each day and the refrigerator is great if you are trying to eat from the grocery store. Negatives are that no one speaks more than bare minimum English, unclear voices can be heard through the walls, and my room could use a fresh coat of paint. All said, this is the second time I have stayed there, each time for a week and recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Jaya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY...Owners incredibly disrespectful

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The only thing to like about this place is its location.
Cons: Ownership, beds, cleanliness, security, comfort.
Location: Location is the only thing great about this place given its location by the Palacio Real de Madrid
No, No, No...DO NOT STAY HERE....This is probably the worst hostel I've ever been to. I'm not sure where these positive reviews are coming from. The pictures are nothing like the place. I've never been more uncomfortable in a place before. In this place you literally get a little room in a house and the owners are extremely unfriendly and so they get extremely irritated very quickly (especially if you don't speak Spanish...which I do) and lack any sort of effort to make you feel comfortable. I wish I could say the cockroach in my room, the leaks around the bathroom, and the uncomfortable beds were the only problems but SHE CALLED THE POLICE ON ME! I showed up and a police officer showed me his badge and questioned me about my intentions of being here in Madrid. She mentioned it was routine and that I shouldn't worry. Not once did she feel the need to apologize for this inconvenience. I felt so uncomfortable there that I LEFT! I've always stayed at the cheaper hostels and endure what is in front of me but the lack of respect and the uneasiness that comes with this place is ridiculous. The location is ideal but If you need a comfortable place to stay then don't waste your time or energy...FIND ANOTHER PLACE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Home away from home...

Posted Feb 22, 2016
myself and my family were very happy. we stay for ten days --the staff is very friendly. very near very plaza. beds very comfortable-- its a place run by family for many years. they are people you can trust--we sleep well because we trusted them.. without hesitation I truly recommend Hostel Luz Madrid for your stay in Spain. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
by Aaron

Lovely

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
We went in November, they cranked the heat! We just opened our window to compensate. Clean room which was made daily, new towels and cups were left everyday. We were quite pleased. Real quick jog to royal palace and the theater, bit of a walk to the museums. As I had read in another review Margarita only speaks Spanish so be prepared :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No a bad place to stay, once you have found it

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Cons: Needs an external sign to show where it is
Would benefit from a sign stating it is there! Had great difficulty finding it.
5 out of 5
by Shraddha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jake from Boston, MA

Great value

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, affordable, conveniently situated to food, tourist attractions, and public transit. Margarit, who runs the place, is very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but hard to find initially.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Great location, less than a 2-min walk to the Opera metro stop.
Cons: The breakfast was minimal at a nearby coffee cafe. It could be improved.
The room was great but Luz was hard to find. It's on the third floor of a building with other business with no markings or signage on the outside. Didn't know the Luz was there until we got inside the front door, noticed a marking on a mailbox, then on the third floor went to a window and asked "is this the Hostal Luz"? When she said "si", I finally knew I had found it.