Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
We were very happy with our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Hotel is right in the main plaza

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Very close to everything - shops, restaurants, metro
The lobby of the hotel needs to updated to look more inviting to people. Put more deceits and plants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Super central. Excellent service. Superb room.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
I arrived late and I was upgraded to apartment. Very clean, comfy and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Nice hotel, good location; internet non-existent

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Great location off plaza Sol and also very close to plaza Mayor with attendant issues (you get that with the location). Others have mentioned that the shower door leaks and we found the same (and ignored it). Wifi signal was great but pointless because our (and the hotel staff's) devices wouldn't usually connect to the internet even after a successful and strong wifi connection. The first day, we connected only after they lookEd into the problem following our complaints but were disconnected after about 10 minutes. We stopped chasing this after day one. In general, internet would be available once every few hours (perhaps after someone complained) and for about 10-15 minutes. I guess that they have a cheap provider or they deliberately do not allow connections to save money, connecting only for a while after someone connects. It is important to note that when we can not (and other guests in the lobby could not) connect, the hotel staff could not either. However the fact that registration can connect just fine on the main computer and that it did not work for everyone on multiple devices but then worked again for a while on these same devices and repeatedly leads me to think that this hotel deliberately disconnects internet access or have a cheap ISP. Since we had no problems anywhere else in Spain, I would suspect the first. Either way, in these days of widely available internet access, I wouldn't want to waste precious time waiting to go online. Wouldn't stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location with all the facilities

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Excellent location Spacious Clean Well equipped Some rooms are noisy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Nov 21, 2015
We have stayed here previously - but this time we were put in an apartment near to the hostal - not to the standard that we expected. I will be travelling to Madrid again in the future - but I will not trust to book this hostal again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overated but perfectly located

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Location (next to Puerat del Sol and the metro station) And all touristic attractions are within 15 mins walking distance
Cons: All the above
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, we picked it because of the great reviews it had. Here's ours: THE BAD: a lot of disappointments: Tiny room, very minimal closet space, no sound isolation what so ever (neither from the street side nor from the inside). Not enough towels or tissue or soap etc ... and the bed sheets had lots and lots of hair! The daily room cleaning was not good. The hotel coffee machine (coin automated) was not working, so we had to buy at the supermarket next door. THE GOOD: The staff was very nice, the location is perfect, and the price is fair
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plantation, FL

High value/price ratio

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Location, value/price
Cons: provide more storage, i.e. shelves
Location: Great food, sights, shopping, transportation, more great food and all within walking distance.
Hotel provides clean, confortable lodging at a reasonable price with an excellent location next to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Mercado San Miguel and the Santa Ana area. Hotel staff are knowledgeable and happy to help and assist. This was our second stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol, england

Nice hotel, perfect location!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
The staff here are so helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Their English is very good so the language barrier won't be a problem if you need help with anything. My room was upgraded to an apartment no extra cost which was great! Perfect location, right in the centre and close to everything although a metro station is only a minutes walk away. I'd stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Excellent Location, Modest Facilities

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Location: Puerto del Sol, Plaza Mejor, Royal Palace
The location is fabulous, and the front desk team could not be more accommodating. However, do be aware that you will be staying in modest, no frills quarters. That said, HM offers great value!