Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Seyed Ali

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but convenient

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect if all you need is a base to shower and sleep! Very basic, but brilliant location and the staff were friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel should have been "hostile" to the senses.

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was horrible. Narrow dark hallways leading to a room with a bed, cheap furniture, and a bathroom that I would have easily traded for an outhouse. Will sitting on the toilet, my right leg was totally under the sink and to be comfortable that way, I had my left leg in the bath tub (if you can call it that). It was like a wash tub with a hand water wand hanging above it. Their are much better rooms available for a few dollars a night more, but you may not find them on the Internet!!!
4 out of 5
by robin from S.F. and L.A.

3 girls from California

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
The stay at this Hostel was pleasant although we ended up staying up stairs at another named Hostel because something went wrong with the reservation, we did not stay at the Oporto but they were run by the same people. Any problems we had were fixed immediately and we did have one or two. We had a room for three, private bathroom was very small but we had a bathroom with a tub shower combo so no complaint. Just want to advise there is no elevator in this Hostel so be prepared to carry your bags up stairs although the Mr. at the desk was very, very nice about helping the girls with luggage. Very close to everything in the "downtown" area if you will. Quite Hostel would stay there again and would recommend it as well. The hostal was very close to Government buildings so that was interesting. Stayed 5 nights While visiting the lovely city of Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Excellent hotel close to city center

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Excellent hotel
Cons: Bigger signs outside the hotel. As it is on a building, someone thst does not know the area might find it hard to locate.
Location: Awesome location. Del Prado museum and the Gean Via are within 10min walk. Has bus stops and metro stops very near as well
I stayed at Hotel Oporto for three nights and my experience could not have been better. Nice room with comfortable beds and all needed facilities. Breakfast was paid (only sad thing) but still pretty cheap (3€). Conveniently located near El Prado Museum and the Gran Via. Only thing to improve is to have a better sign of the hotel at the front door. It is hard to locate at first if you dont know Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morthampton, UK

Brilliant capital city location

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: The powerful shower, comfy beds, good wifi, location.
Cons: Sound proofing could probably be better though it was not a problem during our stay.
Location: The Thyssen Museum is at the end of the road, the Prado museum is not much further. It's also close to the streets of old Madrid where the Palace is.
I stayed at the Hostal Oporto for 3 nights with my 2 daughters. Although our room was small, the beds were very comfortable and there was good storage for our things. Everything was very clean and our shower worked well in our ensuite bathroom. Although we didn't feel our stay was eparticularly noisy as some other people have said, the walls of the rooms do seem quite thin and sound can carry quite a long way. Our room looked down onto a tiny courtyard and when we had our window open we could hear a telephone conversation in a room on a higher floor. If you wanted the room cleaned (between the hours of 9am and 2pm), you could put out a door hanger stating this. We did this once and were surprised that the hotel staff also changed all the bedding (which we felt they didn't really need to do) as well as cleaned the room and emptied the bin. There was a working TV which we didn't use but we did make use of the excellent wifi reception. The best thing about the hotel is that it's in walking distance of many of Madrid's museums and sights and there is plenty of choice nearby of restaurants and cafes. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Erin from Vancouver

Good value, perfect location.

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location, great staff. Clean but basic accommodation. Good value for money. Only drawback is no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up one flight of stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to Madrid city centre

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Great value for money and Excellent air conditioners
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
The room was affordable and not like a hostel; instead it was a private room with a private bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good accommodation in the centre of the city.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location. Value for money.
Cons: Nothing given the type of simple accommodation it provides, which is sufficient for a straight-forward visitor.
Location: Given that the hostal is right in the centre of Madrid, it is obviously well located for all tourist activities.
This hostal is a simple but good place for a few days' visit to Madrid. It's good value for money, clean, quiet and as comfortable as one can get for this type of basic accommodation. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.