Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belfast Ireland

Great Location

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The location was fantastic and staff pleasant and helpful
Cons: It is shabby/cheik......but very reasonably priced....you get what you pay for. It could do with some maintenance work!!
Location: Everything close by
This is a very inexpensive hostel a stones throw from the Grand Via. It is very basic, no reception desk...but know the bedroom door of the family that run it and there is always someone thee to help...with a lovely smile. There is no communal area or no breakfast facilities/dining room. The wifi is temperamental...if you get no signal...knock staff door and ask them to turn router on an off...this works!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Really bad Hostal , really bad shape, old very noisy, small rooms and even smaller bathroom, no cleaning during stay in 3 days they didn't made rooms no even once, we had to ask for toilette paper, No shampoo, there were nobody to checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Splendid location at a reasonable price

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The customer service from the staff - the girl spoke limited English but we communicated using the 'translate' option on our smartphone; Check in/out
Cons: The furniture layout could be improved so that more usable space is available. Also very limited hooks/hangers for hanging clothes.
Location: Very central location with the Gran Via, Sol and Plaza Mayor within easy walking distance.The Madrid Hop on & off tour also has a stop close by.
The hotel (hostel) may look ordinary from the outside, due to the metal bars on the doors - but gives a sense of security as there are multiple doors to get thru, before getting to your room (means carrying more keys though!). Also, for those that are not fit or have mobility issues, this is not the place for them. We had no major problems with the four flights of stairs - the description is 3rd floor but this is the European way, it actually is the 4th floor US. The service staff were really good and courteous - even though they knew limited English (and our Spanish non-existent), we could communicate OK. We reached at 10 a.m and Carlos let us store our bags and freshen up in the 'staff' area, and gave us our room in a little over an hour, just enough for us to grab some breakfast and a quick stroll in the neighborhood. The room itself is a little tight,mostly due to the way the furniture is setup, but the microwave, refrigerator and hot water/shower all worked fine. Carlos also helped us in confirming our return to the airport with the transport company, and was accommodating in taking care of our requests (towels, things to do nearby, etc.). All in all, we had a much better stay than expected, and the location is definitely a plus. There is a decent grocery/mini market close by, where we picked up essentials like water, juice, fruit and a coffee shop/bakery just across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Great Location:

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The location is wonderful. It is very close to the Grand Via Metro Station and Plaza Mayor is within walking distance. Nice place to eat at nearby.
Cons: Lighting in the hallways at night, the sensors do not always work. Be warned....You will need to climb many stairs and there is no elevator.
Location: There is a wonderful little bakery across the street called "Pannus". We had breakfast there every morning. The Prado and other museums are nearby.
Very comfortable bed. The room was clean and the A/C worked perfectly. The Staff were very helpful. My spouse speaks Spanish so that helped us communicate with the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The worst experience in my life.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
The worst experience. No elevator. Entrance very strange Dark and looks dangerous. To get The door entrance at 3rd floor You must go upstairs like four stairs. For me and my Family With 2 luggagge and 4 carry on was so frustrated. Please put it off in your offer. This was actually a fraud.
2 out of 5
by Fareed from London.

Recent visit to Spain.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
So many things to say. First breakfast wasn't offered once. No reception or anyone for help available. Wifi is extremely poor. AC does not work and it also leaks water into the room which is a health and safety issue. No lift so u have to walk up to 4 floors with heavy luggage. The beds were comfortable, iron, fridge, microwave, tv and toilet was in the room.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Rota, Spain

Pleasantly Surprised!!!

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
When I first went in I was wondering how bad this place was going to look, but when I got inside I was pretty surprised at how clean the room looked. The A/C worked great too. Not as bad as I thought it would be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great location, but very small.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great location within Madrid which made for a very walkable visit. The room was however a bit small, which wasn't a problem other than the bathroom, getting into the shower was a bit of a squeeze.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Pictures Do Lie

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: Location was great.
Not at all what you are led to believe by looking at the pictures.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Not at all comfortable