Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paper thin Walls, tiny rooms and poor attitudes!

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything! The walls are far too thin and for weary travelers there is little chance of getting a good nights sleep. The rooms are tiny and smell
Location: It is in the centre so you can practically see all the beauties of Madrid by foot!
The journey from the airport to sol was straightforward and very cheap on the metro. We arrived at the hotel at 11:44 and check in does not start until 1pm. The staff were friendly enough and said they may be able to find a room quicker but we could leave our bags while we waited. We decided to explore El Rastros famous market and arrived back at 12:35. I checked with reception on the progress, not expecting to get a room until 1pm but was told it would be ready in 20mins and our p bags had already been taken up to the room. I waited 20mins and the reception lady went off to find out the progress. She kept coming back and getting different keys and disappearing again. We were absolutely exhausted from our early flight and were desperate for sleep. I went to reception to ask again but this time requested an honest estimation of time, not the same 20min response I was getting up until now. Edward was the member speaking to me and told me there was nothing they could do as they have 80 rooms to clean....since when is it my problem how many rooms they have to clean? They were aware of our presence since 11:44 so surely it would make sense to prioritise out room seeing as we were the only ones waiting!? At this moment another staff member Manuel piped up and started making excuses and trying to explain that even if it says 1pm check in the rooms must be clean so it will be late. I said I have been coming to Spain for many years and I have never encountered this in the other hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A great little place to stay.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The location, the price, the staff, and the comfort and quietness of the room.
Location: The major art museums, the Parque del Buen Retiro, the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, and the Metro are all within a reasonable walking distance.
The Hostal Persal is a well-kept property in a fantastic location in central Madrid. The major art museums, the Parque del Buen Retiro, the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, and more are all within a reasonable walking distance, and there is a major metro station (Sol) less than 10 minutes' walk away. Atoche Renfe station, where one can take the C-1 train to or from the airport, is also very close. The breakfast buffet features a number of options, but no hot food. Staff are very helpful and most speak English, and are quite encouraging if you want to try out your broken Spanish on them. We had a room facing the courtyard, which was nice and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great location but Very noisy!

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Noisy levels from other rooms
Cons: Noise Levels and a bit sturdy main door
Location: Within maximum 10 minutes walk to all major attractions. 5 minutes walk to Puerta del Sol and Metro, 10 minutes walk to Museums and Royal palace
Great location at a great rate but rooms were disappointing compare to rest of the facility. Very outdated and walls were paper thin. Noise from other rooms constantly kept me up late in the night. Good continental breakfast! friendly staff! within 10 minutes walk to all attractions. If noise doesnt bother you than I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Well placed hotel in Madrid close to all facilities and comfortable no tea facilities but breakfast good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, best location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location location location and friendly staff
Cons: The beds
Very very nice and good hotel, location can't be better than this right on a very nice plaza, excellent restaurants, and shops, walking distance to almost all attractions in Madrid (3 min from plaza del Mayor, 10 min from Royal Palace of Madrid and much more). The Hotel is very clean, the only bad thing about it is the bed was not comfortable. Honestly, we were very surprised that it was only 2 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Hostal Persal was very Excellent

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Cons: the management must be adjust the doors closing system to don't let the door closed to hard.
I stay 12 days in the Persal and the Hotel was perfect, very clean the staff was very friendly and rooms very clean the only problem was the others guess slam the doors at any tine the day or night without any consideration of the other guess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Friendly and Clean

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Walk to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Corte Inglés, Casa Museo Lope de Vega, Museo El Prado, Tablaos, Restaurants, small groceries stores.
My mom and I spend two weeks at the Hostal Persal. We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Madrid. All we needed was withing walking distance. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms extremely clean. We enjoyed having breakfast every morning, you could get there right before the closing time, and they still had plenty of food. I will stay there next time I visit Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: They only have one light in the bathroom and can use more light in order to shave properly.
Location: Great location where everything is happening, plenty of restaurants and bars to go to.
It is not the first time that we stayed in this Hostal. Not very fancy but it is clean, the staff is great and includes a breakfast buffet.. Will stay there again on my next trip to Madrid
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place and location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Loved the library room, the decor of the lobby and the location being within walking distance of Puerta del Sol and the lively Calle de Preciados.
Cons: The pillows for the bed were thin, and the charger for my iPod was located directly on the headboard of the bed for some reason.
Located on the Plaza del Ángel, this hip accomodation was worth every penny. They even have their own restaurant right next door! The staff were excellent people. My room was modest but clean and had plenty of room for my luggage, and it also had air conditioning as Madrid gets very hot so this was a pleasant bonus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The place to stay if seeking value for money with location