Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, clean room

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Finish the construction in the walk up
Location: Prado, Parks, Palacio
We were able to walk to the Prado, Buen Retiro Park, Palacio Real and really be a part of the city. Parking was not included and ended up being 50 dollars for 2 days. The parking was constantly protected which was nice. The entrance was undergoing construction, but the room itself was more than adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pleasant Hostel in Centre of Madrid

Posted May 14, 2017
A little difficult to find...I was standing right outside and still couldn't see it, but there is a small sign (40 cm x 30 cm) about 3 m above ground level. The ground floor is also undergoing renovations so initial impressions weren't that great. However, once you actually find it and get inside the hostel it all works. The lady who runs it is delightful, and even though she has no English we managed to communicate. The room, although small, contained everything I needed. The location is very close to the city centre and all that entails (noise, ladies of the night) but overall the location was close to all the attractions and the metro and worked for me. Make sure you visit Cafe de la luz below. It would have been 5 stars from me except the wifi didn't work in my room as advertised. It did work well in the office area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Tokio Hostal, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you very much for you great review, it's always good to know that a guest had a perfect stay, but in your case you made our job so easy with your kindness and your gratefulness. It's true when we say that we would like to see you again soon. Best regards from all the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central location

Posted May 10, 2017
Hotel staff were friendly but spoke little English
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Tokio Hostal, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate the time spent valuing our establishment in such a positive way. Your opinion helps us improve and try to give the best service day after day to our guests. We are happy to have met your expectations and hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton england

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff , clean rooms , good location, would definetly stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Hostal Tokio, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, We strive every day to offer the best service to our customers and we are very happy to have met your expectations. For your next visit we invite you to say your opinions and suggestions to our staff so you can make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again. best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

The best location money can buy.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location with the most exceptional customer service. The best service.
Cons: Not much. It is simply all you need when staying in Madrid.
Location: The best location in the city center. Everything you can dream of within a short walking distance. Thousands of years of history at your finger-tips.
Excellent location in the heart of the city center. Very safe and very, very close to everything. I am so glad I stayed at the Hostal Tokio. I can't wait to go back to Madrid and definitely stay here again. The Staff was the best. Superb service and friendly atmosphere. The lady at the front desk went beyond 100% customer service satisfaction. I wish you could work at every hotel around the world. A+ and exceptional close to it all hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Mercedes Larroca, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We acknowledge that we chose to stay in Madrid and your opinion so positive, we are glad that your stay has been nice to us and we hope we choose again if they return to Madrid. Thank you and Yours sincerely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice and central in Madrid

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This is a great place if you're looking for clean, central and cheap. It's only about a 5 minute walk from Gran Via metro station, so it's easy to get around on foot or by subway. My only criticism is that the bed is a bit hard for my liking, but I'd still recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Mercedes Larroca, Hotel Management
The team of the hostel wants to thank you for your stay with us and your positive comments. We want to visit us again when staying in Madrid. Thanks and regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Central amd Inexpensive

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Easy to find and get to using the metro from the airport. Nice and central to take advantage of Madrid's walkability. Surprisingly quiet. Only real issue is that the bed was a bit hard for my liking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Mercedes Larroca, Hotel Management
We thank you very much for choosing us during your stay in Madrid, we hope to see you again we will be happy to serve you again. Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Great hostal, nice service

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
A little hard to find, you have to buzz in to the apartment to get inside. The lady who checked us in was very sweet and let us choose between two rooms that were available. The room was big (three beds) and had a private bathroom with lots of towels. Great stay, I would recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you for your valuation, it is a pleasure to have you treated and to make your stay more pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hostel located in central Madrid. Double room for the price of single, very clean and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yerevan

Great

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I like this hostal. It is really great. It is good then more 3 stars. If i come in Madrid. I am again will Stay in tokio hostal