Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central hotel great for getting around.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: It's location. Adequate breakfast.
Cons: Attitude of the reception staff. Unwelcoming and cold. Answered the questions we asked but without any enthusiasm. Never smiled. 😡
Location: Location ideal but not if you want a quiet street. Could walk to all the major squares, shopping streets, palace and cathedral.
Only there for two nights but the hotel was adequate for our needs. Very noisy road but this is the location not the fault of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MAR DEL PLATA, ARGENTINA

GREAT TIME.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: EVERIYHING
Cons: NONE
Location: SPECIAL LOCATION AND WE CAN DO EVERYTHING. GOOD ADDRESSE.
NICE HOTEL, STAFF AND SPECIAL AEREA TO BE IN MADRID.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good but hotel needs updates

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: a block and a half from the metro, right on gran via. Cons: the hotel needs a lot of updates. The rooms are very dark and dim. The ventilation (ac/heat) does not work. The bathroom looks dirty and wore. The amenities are little to none. Shampoo, shower gel and conditioner all in one and it looks dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location and classy
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great area, lots of entertainment, shopping and restaurants
I stayed for 2 nights in December 2016, the location was amazing just of Main Street in Gran Via. The rooms were well decorated, clean, good size and great bathroom. The staff were professional and friendly and spoke good English. The breakfast was great too, lots of choice and tasty. I would recommend this to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

Comfort in the Heart of Madrid

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, clean, convenient, appropriately priced. The hotel also has what is claimed to be the smallest working hotel elevator in the world!
Location: The bed mattresses are typically European---more palliative on a solid base---and with a stiff wire edging along the top sides of the mattress.
The Hotel Arose is a wonderful find in a city full of lodging because it is affordable, comfortable, and supremely located along Madrid's Gran Via, only minutes from the Puerto del Sol and the Plaza Major and in the midst of a shopper's paradise. The hotel entrance is on the Calle de ls Segura only fifty feet from the Gran Via. Madrid metro/subway stations are less than two blocks away in almost any direction. The rooms are pleasantly furnished and spacious, and the buffet breakfast is more than sufficient for the heartiest appetite. For dinner, one needs look no further than 19 Sushi Bar located immediately next door or one of the thousands of wonderful restaurants and tapas bars in Madrid. If you're craving a great hamburger (in Madrid . . .really?) there is a Five Guys Hamburgers only a block away along the Gran Via!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Florida

Hotel was in the center to everything. Extremely c

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Excellent location, extremely clean, fabulous breakfast and great staff. Will be going back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very very dated

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This hotel is by no means a 4 star Hotel. It may have been in the 1980s. Now it is very tired, threadbare and uncomfortable. The beds in our room and those of our friends staying were like rock. The bathrooms were disgusting and should have been refitted 3 or 4 times in the period they have been in. TV in the room was the old style fat TV and didn't work. Plus points. Lovely staff. Good breakfast. If you are at all claustrophobic don't use the small lift
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Just outside London, GB

Very well located, just off the Gran Via, perfect

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: It was quiet and seemed to be very well run.
Cons: My room was on the fifth floor; the carpet leading from the lift along , the corridor is very dirty and worn, giving a very bad impression.
Location: Perfectly located for a culture seeking tourist!
Found the hotel very easily, reception staff very friendly indeed,and gave information and direction for where to eat. All their recommendations were very helpful and proved very well founded. My single room was small, but very comfortable with a spacious bathroom and all that I needed. The view was to the back into the service shaft, but that did not detract
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Good location.good size rooms.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I was able to checked in early sunce I arrived at the hotel 3hours early. Lication is great on Gran Via. Bus stops within steps of hotel and shopping district and restaurants. Staff are not personable but they are helpful. My room was clean and good size. Good value. Have a terracewith a side and slight view of grand via and directly across the office building with floor to ceiling glass which are open until late so you cant open your curtains for natural light
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, United States of America

Good hotel, recommended

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Better customer service and clean carpets on hallways to the rooms
Location: Walking distance to all interesting places, metro, museums, etc.
Overall good. The only exception was a Dinning room employee who had a very poor demeanor. This person need to be trained on customer service skills. I had two negative incidents in two different days. Reported to the front desk clerk.