Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great place to stay.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Very good hotel, the staff is amazing, good facilities, clean. Near to the metro station and the bus station. a lot of cafeterias and markets in the same block of the hotel. without doubt i come back to this hotel the next time that i visit Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: service
Cons: no
Location: parc retira
great hotel, handy for the airport, and close transport for the centre, excellent customer service and super clean rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Great Hotel, Restaurant a little disappointing!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Staff and room was very good, a very clean hotel.
Cons: Restaurant Menu
Location: Twenty minute stroll to the centre of Madrid (Train Station)
We did not have breakfast as we were unsure what was available when we booked. We selected a double room when booking through Expedia but when the conformation came through (after I had paid) it said a twin room which we had in room 408. The restaurant on Thursday night was not good after eating there on Monday and Tuesday evening, we were a bit disappointed as the manager who served us and brought our wine was no where to be seen after that. The young man who was left on his own and did not seem to have the experience to run a restaurant on his own (poor lad) and the lady behind the bar seemed to be having to manage everything. A little disappointing after Monday and Tuesday night were very good. Are you short of staff as there seems to be plenty of people during the day? Please also change or increase your restaurant menu as after three nights of the same items the choice is not great but the quality of what you offered is very good. Overall a good stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice, modern hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017
A little out of the centre but metro across the road. Excellent hotel for a short break.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

City break in Madrid

Posted May 25, 2017
Overall the Claridge is a decent hotel of good standards and meets general expectations. It is located very near to the metro and there a number of bars, a pattiserie and a local supermarket nearby. In my personal opinion the hotel is designed more for business or corporate type clients, though perhaps this style or approach is typical in Madrid hotels??? I say this because; (a) in general staff are lacking in customer friendliness (too serious) (b) Hotel lacks comfort eg (mattresses are too firm), and hotel environment is lacking in spaces for relaxation. Overall this is a decent hotel that meets expectations, albeit slightly over priced. I would not recommend this hotel for families, it's more suited to couples and business/corporate customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Near to a metro station. Neat facilities, nice beeds, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Affordable, quiet, friendly staff.

Posted May 2, 2017
Convenient to Metro and buses. Buy ten trip cards from Metro machines good on both . Hotel will arrange shuttle for cost comparable to cab. Staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dolans Bay Australia

Claridge above average

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The hotel is not in the "Centre" but more in the local suburbs. This is not a bad thing as it is an easy walk to the Paseo de Prado and other attractions. It has a metro station across the road Condo de Casal which makes it easy to transfer from the airport via the metro. If coming from airport ( whichever terminal) one only needs to change at Nuevo Ministerios onto line 6. Cost is €5 as there is an airport surcharge. Takes about 40 mins Now back to Claridge. The hotel is very clean the staff are extremely helpful everyone from the front desk to the cafeteria staff provide a very positive guest experience. The rooms are a little small and have no coffee/ tea facilities but beds are comfortable and the air conditioner works very well. ( unlike most of European hotels) The bathroom is of sufficient size and well appointed. ( shower only) Unfortunately despite all these good attributes the room was let down by the continuing noise of sirens during the night. There must be a hospital near by or an emergency medical facility. They didn't stop for 5 days so it's not day related. I would definitely stay here again when in Madrid. Just bring the airline ear plugs in case the sirens bother you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Absolutely great hotel. Room huge and comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas, Venezuela

Excellent hotel with 5 star service and facilities

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: Location is quite, not to walking distance to the interesting places in Madrid, but not far with a Metro Station at front.
This is a great option in Madrid. The hotel is elegant, clean and with excellent service. Good restaurant, outstanding fitness center, and very close to the Metro in a quiet area.