Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great location. Clean and nice staff. Small pool on roof but still worth relaxing in afternoon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Mercedes Reguera - Departamento de Recepción, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for such kind words about your stay with us.We appreciate your comments about the hotel staff, always ready to help. We look forward to hosting you again as our valuable host. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syd

Met expectations

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Room was clean and at the level expected for this type of hotel. We had a triple room and was a bit squeezy but ok. Good location for easy walk to many sights and restaurants in Madrid Excellent touch to have water cooler to supply water near the lifts
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Mercedes Reguera - Departamento de Recepción, Hotel Management
Dear Freda, First of all, we would like to thank you for the time dedicated to write this review. We are glad to know you enjoyed our location, in La Latina neighbourhood, where you can find a lot of tapas bars and restaurants. We all very much hope you will stay with us again. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and clean

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Walking distance to major Madrid attractions. Lts of convenience stores and restaurants close by
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Mercedes Reguera - Departamento de Recepción, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are very glad to know you enjoyed our location, a few minutes walking away from the mos important tourist spots in the city. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Centrally located in Madrid

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Although the rooms are small they are adequate and provide comfortable, convenient accommodation. A kettle would have been welcome. The balcony is large-almost as big as the room and recommended. Staff very helpful and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Juan García - Departamento de Recepción, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Ganivet and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to know that overall we have met your expectations and we really appreciatte your words regarding our staff. We all look forward to see you soon again. Kind regards, Juan García - Departamento de Recepción.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel just south of city center.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Stayed five days and given a room on 5th floor, which have very patios. Located just south of La Latina area about 1/2 mile from Plaza Mayor. Generally a quiet area. Nice roof top pool with great views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Juan García - Departamento de Recepción., Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Ganivet and for the time spent assessing your most recent stay with us. We are glad to know you have enjoyed our central location and we all hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Juan García - Departamento de Recepción.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice hotel in a Great Location!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location, cafe and outdoor space attached to the room.
I booked this hotel completely based on location. What a nice hotel. The front desk and cafe/bar staff were so helpful. Easy walking to many of the neighborhood squares for Tapas and people watching. My 5th floor room was a nice size and it had a big outdoor space. Sitting out with coffee or a glass of wine was a real treat. Also on the 5th floor is a rooftop pool and area to sun. A great activity in the mid afternoon when temps rise in Madrid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Laura, Departamento de Recepción., Hotel Management
Dear Margaret. Thank you to take your time in valueing your stay in our hotel. We´re glad to know you spent a good days in our hotel. Our jacuzzi and terrace are great to take a realixing time after visit the city. Thank you too for higtlight our team, we work toreach It. Regards!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Easy walk to Plaza Mayor in the historic area. Clean hotel. Cafeteria staff friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Mercedes Reguera - Departamento de Recepción, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review about our hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed our location, a few minutes walking away from the main tourist spots in Madrid. We all very much hope you will visit us again. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham UK

Central hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Central location - clean - sensibly priced.
Cons: Very little - it ticked all the boxes.
Location: Fairly central - markets nearby, museums within 20 mins walk, hundreds of bars here there and everywhere. Enjoyed the Royal (Real) Botanical Gardens.
Excellently located hotel close to the centre of Madrid. All the museums, essential sights and bars within walking distance. Underground car park very useful - we had no intention of driving in and around Madrid so the car stayed put. We needed it for our first couple of days some 150 miles south of the capital. Otherwise, if you plan on staying in Madrid, I'd stay at Hotel Ganivet and not hire a car. The pool on the roof was great - too cold for bathing yet, but we did go at the beginning of May. We had a drink in the bar and the service was friendly and reasonably priced. All in all a very positive experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Mercedes Reguera - Departamento de Recepción, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, We would like to thank you for choosing the hotel Ganivet and for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear you found our location very convenient for visiting the city. We all very much hope you will stay here again in the future. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, could be better

Posted May 3, 2017
Originally we had trouble getting a double room as the hotel was apparently full so had a twin room the first night. Though very unsympathetic, staff did try to help and changed our room the next night. The first room had a large hole in the ceiling from past water damage, we were offered another room but as we were changing the next night declined. The second room (double) was fine and clean, however, the hair dryer mount was hanging off the wall from damage and the shower went from freezing cold to scalding hot constantly when used making the experience very unpleasant. Wifi was available but very very slow. No kettle in the room. The jacuzzi area on the roof was clean and well kept but opened at 1100 and closed at 2100 excluding morning sun and evening relaxation. The pool itself was small, unheated and the bubbles did not work. Location was good and close to the centre square. Overall this hotel was not bad but for the price you could most likely find somewhere slightly better; but our stay could have been worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Laura, Departamento de Recepción., Hotel Management
Dear James, like I told you in your first review, I tried to help you in all the moment with good words and facts. The second day you had a room with one bed like you wished, the problem the first day was we were full and the kind of the bed is under avaliavility. Your opinon is very important for us, these reviews make us grow up and improve. Thank you. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by jacqueline

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
could not ask for a better location ,only a ten minutes walk into the centre of Madrid Also the roof top pool and terrace was great to relax in. The breakfast was very good had a great choice from a cold or hot buffett with of a good standard of food . The staff where very friendly and very helpful with any questions we had. the rooms where of a good size and the balcolney was huge,nice to relax in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Mercedes, Hotel Management
Dear Jacqueline, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review about out hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read that the breakfast was a highlight for you, providing you with a delicious start of the day. We strive on always providing every guest with the best hospitality, therefore your feedback is important to us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Mercedes Reguera - Departamento de Recepción