Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great position - great food - poor poor room

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: The food on the outside terrace was superb and the staff in that area were attentive and efficient.
Cons: The first floor up......
We booked 3 days at the Ritz to take in what we could of Madrid and the champions league semi final at the bernabau. First impressions of the ritzy are good but the room was tired - very tired. It looked dirty to be truthful but probably wasn't on the basis it was just that old and in desperate need of refurbishment. Disappointed !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, CA

One of the best hotels in Spain

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Safe location -you can walk to impressive museums and parks,- and outstanding staff -friendly, efficient, knowledgeable-, old-style luxury
Location: Art museums, go to the Parque del Retiro, dine at great restaurants or many tapas bars
I stopped in Madrid in a trip from California to Southern Spain. I found that the overall quality of hotels is much higher in Spain than what you get in the U.S. for the same price or relative level, and the Ritz Madrid exceeded my expectations not only in efficiency (which I think it is due to its Asian top management for the chain) but also in the human touch of the staff. If you like old-style hotels with modern services (perfect beds, fast internet, etc.) you will enjoy this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Memorable stay in Madrid

Posted Mar 27, 2016
The hotel is ideally located for visiting the various sites in Madrid. The room was clean with modern amenities. The breakfast was superb and the service fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2016
The service was really great n so facilities in general, but hotel details are a bit too old n would be fantastic if they update it thru a drastic remodeling ASAP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old times Splendor

Posted Jan 12, 2016
It is refreshing to be able to enjoy a Palace as it used to be. Splendid location, building. Very good service all over. The Goya Restaurant is splendid with 5 stars service. There is no other place I would stay while in Madrid. Highly recommend the Ritz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A tired old Lady

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Extraordinary concierge. Everything from fast-pass tickets to all museums to bookings at restaurants you will remember for years. Ask for Jesus.
Cons: Besides refurbishing the rooms, the staff in the lounge doesn't quite have a sense of urgency or care. It can take forever to get the bill.
Location: Best location in Madrid. Next door to the Prado, steps from old town.
This is a grand hotel just a stone's throw from everything in Madrid, including the Prado. It's clean and the staff is fabulous, but the carpeting is 20 years old, the furniture has seen better days, and it needs refurbishment. Mandarin Oriental bought it six months ago and is starting a rehab, but they have a long way to go. That said, there is no better place in Madrid than the lounge off the lobby for a tea service you will never forget. When we first got into our room we had to ask for another because the mattress was old and hard as a rock and the bed was a queen, not the king we had contracted for. The second room was great but the walls were like paper and the gentleman next door wanted no one on either side of him. Our third room was good, but not what I expected from the Ritz. I've stayed there many times over the years but it has been allowed to age over the last decade and you would only want to be in a refurbished room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Best of the best! Treated like royalty! And the room was spacious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New England

Elegant 100 year old hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Staff always made me feel good.
Cons: Undoubtedly, there will be some updating to do. I hope they don't eliminate the warmth and tradition along the way.
Location: For tourists or business with downtown meetings, location is excellent.
Without being overwhelming, the Ritz is a grand hotel from another era. Everything about it is refined, if dated. Having stayed in other Mandarin Oriental Hotels (Asia/USA) which are exquisite and modern, I was looking forward to experiencing a recently acquired, but not yet updated, traditional venue. The staff is welcoming and attentive, everyone from reception through concierges to maids and waiters. Having frequented Spanish hotels for decades I expected far less and was pleasantly surprised. Those seeking a state of the art hotel may be disappointed, at first, but the quality, charm and overall experience should be enough to overcome the first impressions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful hotel.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Great, like stepping back in time to the dignified, grand hotels of the past. From the first check-in moment, to the concierge services, lovely room and bath. Great location. Nothing but the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,close to everything in Madrid

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: location
friendly staff,clean room only downside is building is too old