Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Classy, luxurious hotel that you never forget

Posted Jun 6, 2017
All the staff are very professional. The food of GOYA is excellent. This hotel will make your trip to Madrid unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Exceptional Hospitality

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, staff and the ability of the staff to adjust quickly to the our needs . Food was also exceptional at breakfast, lunch and dinner
Cons: Absolutely nothing needs to be changed
Location: According to the interest the area can accommodate any level of interest from cultural to shopping or other
Ritz sets the standard on hospitality. Is never easy to understand the needs of a guest in the short time allowed by the circumstances and the management and staff is always present to respond and act in the proper way exceeding the expectation of each guest. We spend 5 splendid days in Madrid and an exceptional semana santa flavoring each moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel to be close to the Prado

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very pleasant staff. Excellent service. The garden restaurant was lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Dont waste your money.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The hotel is old and in need of an up date. I thought that would be part of the charm but it lacked in many areas. The door had a key not a card and was difficult to open. The staff was nice but gave poor recommendations on where to have lunch. The location was good but I'm sure there were many other places to stay that were less expensive and had better amenities. Don't waste your time or money on this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated Rooms

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Service, location
Cons: Rooms
Location: The park, museums, shoppping
The Ritz is an oriental mandarine hotel, and I therefore assumed it would be a safe bet. Having stayed at other group hotels I have always had impeccable service and a great stay. This was a little different.... On arrival, the service was great and although we were earlier than the check in time, they offered us a drink while our room was being prepared. The lobby is great and sitting there having a drink, I thought I had made a good choice. However once I got into the room, my opinion completely changed. The rooms have probably not been renovated for 15-20 years. This is my main issue with the hotel. When you pay top dollar for a hotel you cannot have a room so dated. Carpets worn out old furniture etc. Besides this the location is great and so are the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel. Perfect location.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The Ritz hotel is the only place to stay in Madrid!
5 out of 5
by Mark Fehrs

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Authentic European Elegance

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Traditional, old world luxury. A unique European experience.
Cons: Nothing. They've gotten it right for more than 100 years.
Location: Prado Museum right next door is one of Europe's most renowned art collections. Many other museums, parks and historic byways within walking distance.
The hotel was built at the behest of Spanish King Alphonse to house visiting royalty of the Edwardian era, and that's the atmosphere. Not as pretentious or glitzy as London and Paris Ritz hotels, the Madrid Ritz has a more authentically aristocratic and homey vibe (assuming, of course, your home is a palace). You can't beat the location, central to museums, Retiro park and the heart of the city. My room had a sumptuously antique feel; solid, seemingly original fixtures and furnishings - not new, but not worn - and it had a charming view overlooking the Prado. The staff was top notch. From the doorman to the concierge, expect old world, manor house service verging on the obsequious. Also expect eye-watering prices. I paid $17 for two small coffees (one plus a refill) in the lobby salon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEw York

Expensive, worth it.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Old European charm in this legendary hotel in downtown Madrid. Close to all attractions. But by itself it is worth the visit. The menus, the champagne. Lovely.
5 out of 5
by Maria

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent !!