Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great chic and stylish hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Chich and stylish. Each floor has a separate design. Hotel staff very helpful.
Location: We got into the main shopping areas in about 15/20 mins by metro.
I came to Madrid with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday. I had read great reviews, so I was looking forward to the clean white features I'd seen on the website. When we arrived at the reception they asked if we like the room and from the pictures they show on the iPad it still looked great. When we got the room however (8th floor) it was way too bright and white for us. They do have amazing black out blinds in all of their rooms, but it was just too clinical (personal feeling), also the bath is not in a separate room, it's separated by a curtain. We didn't realise we had the option of what floor to stay on, and once that was cleared up we selected the Japanese theme (10th floor) things were much better for us. This floor is black and very chic. This room has a separate room and lovely power shower. The design in the hotel as a whole is amazing. Each floor has been designed by a different designer. If you stay here make sure you grab a bunch of the sweets at reception! They are delicious. Also they have a complementary shuttle bus, which picks you up from the airport and drops you off. You must book early to make sure you get a seat. Overall we all had a great trip, the hotel helped alot. I don't know if Madrid as a whole was as accommodating, and suited
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Valeria Knop, Hotel Management
Dear Londoner, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Expedia. We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your experience at the Silken Puerta América!! Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future Kind regards, Valeria Knop PR & Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel had different themes in each floor. It was a fun place to stay, The bars and restaurant were convenient and good. The only problem was the lights above our bed would not work so it was a bit challenging to pack. Besides that everything was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Valeria Knop, Hotel Management
Dear Angela, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on this site. We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your experience at the Silken Puerta América!! We will take into account all your comment in order to improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future Kind regards, Valeria Knop PR & Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

There are much better places in Madrid to stay!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: Far away for the center. 10 Euros taxi to get to the downtown Madrid.
I appreciate the design of the hotel. But it was very uncomfortable, bed, sheets and pillows were not that good for 5 stars hotel. Something went wrong with the lights, suddenly turned on in the middle of the night automatically. When I arrived late at night the staff was not friendly. The internet was very slow as well. The experience overall it wasn't good. This hotel doesn't deserve 5 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lond

Silkily sleek

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Free movement of space
Location: Perfectly situated to access the airport and the town
Simply exquisite. Space, facilities, food, decor all carefully crafted to provide the ultimate guest stay. Attention to detail is you'll come to enjoy by staying at the hotel and make sure to eat in the restaurant which serves excellent food especially the fish dishes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Interesting design hotel but far from a 5*

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Born from architects' dreams, this hotel stands out in terms of originality and concept. Most features aren't practical ( big stainless steel bathtubs but you have to fill them with a showerhead, no faucet). A balcony exists but the windows cannot be opened etc... regarding cleanliness there is room for improvement on the bathroom side. The service is below expectation for a self appointed 5*, with last airport shuttle at 20:40 but when you call at 20:20, the shuttle has gone 20 min ago and there will be no more. I tried to book the Shuttle for the next day, but it was fully booked until 11:00...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Groovy

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel was a real bit of fun.
Cons: TV on 7th floor a bit complex to work but otherwise room was fun
Location: Metro system is unbelievable. Very easy, cheap, clean and fast.
Hotel with a quirky difference. Adds a bit of fun to your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, Essex - UK

Great stay, very clean, staff very helpful!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Good location, near metro line and away from hustle and bustle!
Location: Very close to metro line, although all things are within walking distance!
All floors have different themes, you get a choice which is fab!! We stayed on level 11,fab views!! Free shuttle bus to and from airport - amazing!! Will defiantly be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kaiserslautern, Germany

Staying in Art

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The architecture and colors used in the hotel were great.
Cons: You can tell the hotel is older and is getting a bit rundown. I would also suggest that people pick their room before they arrive at the hotel
Location: The location was okay. We had to take the metro everyday to get downtown; the stop is only 50 meters from the hotel.
This hotel has it's 12 guest floors, restaurants, bars, and public spaces all designed by different famous architects. Our room was made by two Spanish designers (sorry, forgot their names) with lots of color and an interesting layout. The bathroom was actually part of the room but could be closed off with a one-way curtain when showering; looking out the window through the room was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from torreon mexico

very unique hotel, excellent

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: it's comfort, location and very clean.- also a plus free airport shuttle.-
Cons: have a coffee maker in rooms.-
Location: very good restaurants in the neighborhood, not far from downtown nor from airport.-
this hotel with a very modern architecture all floors with a different design, hotel staff very polite, well communicated via taxi, metro or bus.- very pleasant indeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A one off hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Choice of floors,overall interior design,friendly staff.
Cons: The price of breakfast,cost of meals generally.
Location: Reasonable location,courtesy bus good for town,airport.Good restuarants within walking distance,metro very close.
To find a hotel with thirteen different designed floors,is amazing,wishing to sample each one.We stayed on 4th floor with all the angled stainless steel,has to be seen.Overall very pleased.