Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario, Canada

Excellent location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location, clean room, staff and breakfast choices
Excellent hotel and helpful staff. Renovation and only 1 elevator (the 2nd elevator was idle) caused a bit of inconvenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

The expensive hotel from hell

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The reception staff.
Cons: Informing potential guests that it was a construction site.
Location: Good nearby cafes/restaurants but needed to travel to see excellent sights
I was in Madrid on holiday and stayed at the MERCURE MADRID PLAZA DE ESPANA (10/04/2017- 20/04/2017). It looked to be well situated – not being far from a Metro station with access for the disabled - which is important for me as I am partially disabled. According to the MERCURE MADRID PLAZA DE ESPANA website, the 4* hotel had a rooftop terrace bar and a dining room on site. In addition, there was a lift. There were many photographs of the interior which made it look very attractive. The reservation was non-refundable and could not be cancelled or changed. We had been allocated a 3rd floor room. On arrival, the hotel is enshrouded in scaffolding covered in a wire meshing with broken stonework around the entire visible, or should I say invisible, building. One of the two lifts was being renovated and was therefore unusable. It transpired that due to renovating the premises into ‘THE HOTEL OF MY DREAMS’, the 2nd floor was a construction site. Around 11.00 the following morning, my husband (Bill) and I tried to exit the hotel and waited some 10 minutes for the lift. It did not appear. Bill walked down the three flights and I hobbled after him. At some point, after we had retired for the night, a notice had been put up indicating that the lift would be ‘OUT OF ORDER’ between 12 00 and 14.00 hours that afternoon. The owner, JEAN~MICHEL PALLINGER, appeared and said he would rectify the situation. That was the last we saw of him. The hotel engineer came and conducted us thro
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Under renovation

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Noisy as it is under renovation. Was very difficult as we were with a little infant - who kept waking up on hearing hacking/ drilling noises. Otherwise hotel is good.. well located and staff are quite friendly and helpful. Rooms are good but felt a bit cramped once the baby crib was placed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syd, NSW

Nice hotel. Close to the city.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Smooth check in. Nice clean modern room. Breakfast was amazing. GSA was very helpful on recommending touristie thingy for us. And thank you very much we enjoyed Madrid. We surely share our positive experience in the hotel to our friends.
3 out of 5
by Maria Paz

Okay

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Well situated for visiting madrid

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Its location and value for money that attracted us back. Also the comfortable rooms . Helpful staff with ideas of place to visit . Map provided .
Cons: It is an older hotel so you can expect to see some updating requirements. It appears that the top floors are being attended to at the moment.
Location: Close to Palace Egypt temple and plaza de espana Good eating places close by Grand Via for shopping.
This is the second visit to this hotel. The hotel is well situated for the Royal palace , gran via area. The hotel itself is very comfortable and although in a busy street is very quiet. The staff are very pleasant and helpful . The beds are very comfortable. We ate out for breakfast so can't comment on the food. My only complaint, and it was only a small one, was that we had not been informed that major works were being carried out to the hotel and contractors would start work sharp in the morning at 8am and on one occasion were still working at 7pm. When you are on holiday to be unexpectedly waken at 8am by the noise of drilling and hammering is not appreciated. If we had been informed by either Expedia or the staff on checking in we would have known what to expect. This however would not deter us from returning for a third visit in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for sightseeing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Personally liked the dated decor. Good location. Breakfast was limited, could have more of a variety.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels