Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Well situated for visiting madrid

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Its location and value for money that attracted us back. Also the comfortable rooms . Helpful staff with ideas of place to visit . Map provided .
Cons: It is an older hotel so you can expect to see some updating requirements. It appears that the top floors are being attended to at the moment.
Location: Close to Palace Egypt temple and plaza de espana Good eating places close by Grand Via for shopping.
This is the second visit to this hotel. The hotel is well situated for the Royal palace , gran via area. The hotel itself is very comfortable and although in a busy street is very quiet. The staff are very pleasant and helpful . The beds are very comfortable. We ate out for breakfast so can't comment on the food. My only complaint, and it was only a small one, was that we had not been informed that major works were being carried out to the hotel and contractors would start work sharp in the morning at 8am and on one occasion were still working at 7pm. When you are on holiday to be unexpectedly waken at 8am by the noise of drilling and hammering is not appreciated. If we had been informed by either Expedia or the staff on checking in we would have known what to expect. This however would not deter us from returning for a third visit in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - possible to walk to sites of interest

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, clean and close to Plaza del Espana
Cons: Breakfast could be included in price.
Location: There is a flanenco show at a site in Plaza Del Espana - book at tourist centre in Plaza Mayor
We had a great city break which was full of interest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good central hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
On arrival we found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. My sister and I had adjoining double rooms which had plenty of room. The style of the hotel is very traditional and could seem dated to some but we found this a refreshing change from bland minimalistic modern decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Hotel for sight seeing

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Location of this hotel to central Madrid is good. Clean rooms good breakfast well worth the 13 euros .one word of warning if you have a room on the front keep your window closed at night a night club 30mtrs away gets a bit rowdy until 04.am better still ask for room on rear
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UAE

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The Room and the location
Very good experience. Good information from Hotel staff about places to visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Javier de Lucas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Javier de Lucas Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A bit off from busy central which is nice

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Walking distance to many points of interest, and tapas bar/restaurants Very nice restaurant just next door!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Javier de Lucas, Hotel Management
Dear Katherine , Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from puerto Rico

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Excellent breakfast, Free Wifi, good location, nice staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Madrid Visit

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Clean, reasonable price, great staff, quite and awesome breakfast. Within walking distance of major site seeing locations.
Cons: I was OK with everything.
Location: Very quite and close to major landmarks. Metro location within a 5 minutes walk and a very nice park just 2 blocks to the west. A few local cafes
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was all we hoped for. Reasonable price in a quite area close to the main parts of Madrid. The breakfast each morning was outstanding and the room plus common areas were extremely clean. There is a really nice park about 2 blocks to the west. I liked that you could not hear cars or people on the street below, which can be a common problem in big European cities. Hotel staff was very nice. Would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent central location

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: It's in a very central location, a couple of minutes from Plaza Espana, but it's also quiet during the night.
Cons: We had a superior double room but sadly there's not much superior about Room 216. The wall paper is peeling and the sink was cracked.
Location: Try the bar opposite for some good and hearty food, terrific portions, good cheep pinxtos, 7 for €7.50 and I got a free glass of wine
We arrived a couple of hours before check in time but the receptionist happily looked after our luggage. The rooms were ready when we returned an hour and a half later. We were provided with maps and the main attractions were pointed out on the maps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Wales

Excellent location and lovely hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Everything in the hotel was pleasing. The bed especially was so comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the whole room.
Location: The hotel is very close to the Palace, Gran Via for shopping and the cable car to Casa de Campo.
After a delayed flight it was so nice to arrive at the hotel. It was so welcoming and comfortable.