Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Within walking distance to lots of shopping and sights, without being right in the middle of loud nightlife. Amazing breakfast spread!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great spot

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Good location, reasonable price, great service
One of the best breakfast buffets I have ever had. The staff was outstanding as well, helping with local tourist information, friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

One of the Best unknown little hotels in Madrid

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: room size
Location: great, central located
I would go back anytime, ... location is great, hotel is great and staff is excellent. Great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Nieves Platero de la Vega. Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lemy, First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your review about your recent experience in the NH Collection Colón. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the modern and elegant decoration of our hotel. We made a big investment to improve all our facilities and services, and the whole team is very motivated with this change. If we have the opportunity to host you again please, do not hesitate to contact our Guest Relations department or Reception for assigned you the most convinient room size for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel for your next trips to Madrid. Sincerely, Nieves Platero de la Vega Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nearly perfect

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The hotel is really well situated within minutes from Chueca and the museums and a walk away from other attractions. Disappointing to get synthetic pillows though this means that within minutes of laying down, you head is sweating and feeling really uncomfortable. The only way around it was to put towels around the pillows in order to get some organic comfort. The room was good, on the 5th floor, a little balcony overlooking Colon, so it was nice. Huge bathroom and shower, which was lovely also. My room did not get serviced for 3/4 of the day after my first night which was a bit disappointing... So, all and all, not a bad hotel, could do better with the use of proper feathered pillows, or at least a choice of pillows!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Nieves Platero de la Vega. Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for giving us your opinion about our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you loved the bathroom and specially the shower. I am sorry about the pillows. Our main goual is your confort and we strongly care about that for this reason last year we have made a completely refurbishment and we have changed everything. We strongly take care about that, since we change all the pillows of the hotel, we didn’t have any complaint about that. We are really sorry that your rest and your stay with us was not the expected (our pillows are made 100% by cotton stuffed 100% by polyester). Our Reception or Guest Relations department is always at your disposal for anything that you may need and resolve all kind of situations . We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to have the chance to make it better next time. Yours sincerely, Nieves Platero de la Vega Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

One nighter

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: This is a great hotel, at one of the best locations in town, Salamanca. The rooms are well appointed, modern, very comfortable. Staff was very corteous and efficient giving tips about the neighborhood. All this for a very reasonable rate; this is definitively a place to come back in the future.
Cons: There was not a single negative aspect in this hotel.
Location: .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Nieves Platero de la Vega. Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marcelo el Orbitz, Thank you for sharing your good experience with us at the NH Collection Colón. It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed our new rooms, our friendly staff and that you were able to enjoy most of the interesting points of the city thanks to our location. We look forward to welcoming you again, Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Perfect location for a Madrid city break.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Lovely, modern and clean hotel. Easy yo get to from the Airport via the Metro. Great breakfast buffet. An all round great stay, with attentive staff. Perfect for our 4 day city break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Nieves Platero de la Vega. Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, We are delighted by your amazing feedback on your recent stay at NH Collection Colón, especially regarding our breakfast and our staff; we will not fail to report them your kind words. Knowing that the refurbishment satisfied your expectations fills us with joy and motivates us to keep on moving forward. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel minus the smoky entry

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel but DISLIKED that to enter the hotel entrance you ALWAYS had to pass by all the cigarette smokers, both staff and guests smoking outside. For that reason alone would not stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our NH Collection Colón and for choosing us for your last stay in Madrid. We so much regret that your stay was not as you have expected. The hotel is a 100% smoke free space and offer an outdoor terrace on the fourth floor, open from 7am to 11pm, where smoking is permitted as well as the entrance. All our staff have forbidden smoking at the main entrance, since they have special places for doing it. We have remember it to all of them in order to double check that and we are sure that everything is working properly. I hope that you willl give us another chance to show you that the Colón experience can be perfect! Best regards, Nieves Platero de la Vega Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent room condition, very clean and new furtniture. Recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay at NH Collection Colón. And recommend our hotel to Expedia users. It is true that our exclusive room style is a point very much appreciated by our guests. Providing you a great stay is our main goal and we feel really proud to reach it in your case. I hope that you will find a new opportunity to come back soon to Madrid and visit us again. Best regards, Nieves Platero de la Vega Guest Relations Manger
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Excellent hotel in a safe and upscale neighborhood

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
I had previous good experiences with NH branded hotels around Europe and this hotel was not the exception! We were welcomed by very attentive staff, modern decoration, cozy rooms and the location just a walking distance from Serrano Metro Station or Madrid-Recoletos train station. Thank you everyone for a great week in Madrid and I hope your chain keeps the consistent level of good service in all your hotels. As for now, none of the NH hotels booked did disappoint, and with our picky parents, that's a good reference point.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned, the NH chain is making a great commitment to quality and to adjust its hotels to high standards. Our hotel has been one of the lucky ones that has made a great investment and bet on confort. We should be the ones to thank you trusting us during your stay in Madrid. It is a pleasure to know that you liked our rooms, our location and that you found the staff friendly. We hope you will find the oportunity to come back and visit us again soon. Best Regards, Nieves Platero de la Vega Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely area and convenient for main visitor sights

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The staff are very professional and helpful. Would definitely stay there again if in Madrid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Nieves PLatero de la Vega. Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that our staff fulfilled your expectations. Your words are the best motivation for us to continue working in the same way. I hope that you will find the opportunity to come back to Madrid and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Nieves Platero de la Vega Guest Relations Manager