Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA USA

Looks good, service not so much

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Proximity to art galleries and train station. Room cleanliness was good.
Cons: Clarity of room alternative amenities and prices . Staff dedicated to good service. Provide stamps for post cards.
Location: See above.
We looked at many Madrid hotels in different locations, different price ranges, different sizes. NH Nacional looked like a good value. We knew the room would be somewhat small, but location was excellent, across Paceo del Prado from two of the big three museums, and walking distance to Atocha train station. Price looked very attractive. When we checked in the desk clerk explained that our room would not have any of the standard amenities. No coffee maker, no slippers, no robes, no view. We would have to upgrade to levels (at 20 Euros/night for each level) in order to get the amenities we expected. The clerk acted very matter of fact, not friendly, and communicated the attitude that he didn't care whether we stayed or not. This attitude largely persisted for the 4 nights we stayed there. No restaurant recommendations or assistance. We were given a map, but very little effort to even point out places of interest to us. No help with knowledge of train station process. Not even a stamp to mail a post card. This is the worst service experience we have had at any hotel, anywhere in the world. There was one notable exception. Carlos, who works in the small restaurant/bar in the front of the hotel. He was friendly, helpful, interesting, and available, all in stark contrast to the rest of the staff. Carlos was the bright spot in an otherwise dingy experience. The hotel had many small business meetings each day. Perhaps this is the type of customer to which they cate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Una bella estancia

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Sus instalaciones y ubicacion
Cons: El apoyo para sacar tu bordón pass
Location: Fuimos a todos los museos d ella ciudad que quedan muy cerca
La ubicación de NH es excelente. El confort y limpieza de las habitaciones es muy bueno. El detalle que tuvieron de enviar un detalle del chef en el cumpleaños de mi esposo fue increíble !!! Muy bella estancia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the station, to El Retiro park & Park

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Cons: no. Maybe a coffee machine in standard rooms.
Great, we love Madrid and this is a great comfortable and conveniently located hotel near the main attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good convenient hotel in excellent condition

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Location and condition
Location: Botanical gardens across the street, many restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.
This hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of Madrid. Easy walking distance to the park and governmental and commercial offices. The interior has recently been renovated, and the rooms are well appointed. The bar in the lobby is well tended. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Near to the subway station.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Close to subway and train station
Cons: Nil
Location: Very close to place of interest
There are a lot of place of interest around the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
It was ok only the breakfast was 22 euro an little bit expensive for what you get
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but noisy

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Great location to metro station but station was closed till Nov, so had to walk to train station everyday. Hotel is super noisy, you can hear everything from room next to you, wall btw room is like paper, terrible!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel piacevole, bella hall; posizione ottima.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: L'arredamento, l'ampiezza degli spazi nella hall, e la funzionalità dei servizi di reception
Cons: La stanza era leggermente piccola; andrebbe aggiunto, nella stanza da bagno, il bidè
Location: La posizione dell'hotel facilita gli spostamenti per quasi ogni parte della città, anche grazie ai mezzi pubblici che lo circondano.
Avevo cercato un hotel che mi permettesse di visitare i grandi musei della zona, e la posizione dell'hotel era in sostanza la migliore possibile, che ti consente sia i movimenti a piedi sia utilizzano i mezzi di trasporto pubblici.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keurig hotel centraal gelegen vlakbij Prado

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Keurige kamers, kamer gelegen aan straatkant wat lawaaiig door verkeer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Modern hotel near Prado. Serious wifi problems

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Rooms are quite modern and clean
Cons: Wi-fi MUST be improved. Otherwise this hotel is unusable for modern day travelels.
Location: Parda and Thyssen-Bornemissza Museums are very close-by
Rooms are modern, but no bidet or bathtub. Biggest problem is the very slow, almost unusable wifi (supposed to be free wifi). They offer to upgrade you for 10 Euros per day, but we sampled that in NH Malaga: no difference. Very sad, that a supposedly four star hotel is unwilling to invest in modernizing its wifi system. There have been reviews of this hotel going back several years criticizing the wifi. If you care about the internet, do not use this hotel.