Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grapevine, TX

Thanks, Miguel!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Miguel, and the breakfast
Cons: rooms are a bit small
Location: Near Plaza Mayor and Plaza del Sol. Lots of bodegas and Tapas places. Very hopping bar scene.
We had just checked into the hotel after a trip from the Madrid airport, and my wife's wallet, with credit cards, IDs and all, was stolen on the Metro. Miguel, the desk clerk was extremely helpful and reassuring, and offered us access to the hotel phone to cancel cards. He even rounded up an iphone 4 charger so we could use that phone to call the U.S. We were able to put the distress of this theft behind us long enough to enjoy some of the bodegas near the hotel, including Meson del Champignon, a quaint "cava" that serves excellent mushroom tapas and Sangria, and which was a hangout for my fighter pilot buddies in the mid 70s. The hotel, which I think is a franchise, is new, clean, and well situated right on the main drag between Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor, and is just a couple of minutes from Mayor. The breakfast is incredible! The hotel rooms are small but very clean and the bathrooms are modern with a nice shower. I don't recommend driving into Madrid if you can help it. The streets are jam packed with people at night and it's not easy to get around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

The Good, the Bad, the Ugly

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The Good: excellent location, walking distance to main attractions, clean room, excellent bathroom with good shower, great breakfast with selection of fresh juices, fruits, hot breakfast and various cheeses and meets. The Bad: The Triple room is very very small, and is not suitable for 3 adults; the stuff is not very helpful - we had to wait for 10 minutes while the girl at reception was yapping on the phone, and did not acknowledge us at all. Also, be aware that stuff speaks very limited English. The Ugly: there is no AC control in the room, and the heat setting was extremely hot (and I am coming from Houston), so we had to keep windows open. The room faces busy street, so you can imaging that it was a compromise between suffocating in heat or listening to noises from the street and wakening up at 4am to garbage crew yelling and traffic starting to wake up. Overall, we had fun, and enjoyed our time in Madrid. Just wish the small details would not taint our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Ideal location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Locatio
Cons: Needed brighter lighting and the reception area could do with a revamp.
Location: Very central. Good access to Royal Palace, Gran Via, Pkaza Mayor and lots of restaurants.
Situated right opposite the Plaza Mayor and ideal for getting around Madrid. Gran Via with all its shops is about 10 mins walk away and the Royal Palace about 8 mins walk. We attended a game at the Vicente Calderon to watch Athletico play and walked to the stadium. It took about 30 mins in the direction of the Royal Palace. Lots of shops and restaurants on your doorstep from budget to higher end. The staff are very helpful and polite and speak fluent English. We had breakfast on our last day which was very good and varied. If you book the day before the cost is €11 euros each. The hotel is quite small as is the reception with quite a dark feeling due to low lighting. the room was also fairly dark but very well equipped with a lovely large shower, very comfortable bed and lots of free toiletries including a razor for men. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by David Brañas , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We want to thank you for giving us your comments who give us the opportunity to improve our services. Your satisfaction is our priority and all of our staff works hard every day to provide you the best service we are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.We are glad to hear that our location on the "Heart" of Madrid helped you to further enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PAP

Great value for your money!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nice hotel close to Madrid's center and main attractions. The room was clean, with great natural light, comfortable bed and pillows AND quiet (although the hotel is on a busy street)! We found it to be a great value for our money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by David Brañas | Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nadz, thank you very much for chossing us and for your great review! We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay. Hoping to welcome you back very soon, Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Excellent hotel in the center of Madrid.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel Is kid friendly with bunk beds and plenty of comfortable sleeping spaces. plaza mayor is lively with historical buildings and excellent restaurants. The hotel is quiet and faces the street. Breakfast is expensive but the buffet is delicious. Breakfast includes a variety of juices, coffees and local dishes. Nearby shopping is pricey but very convenient for souvenirs and other items. Hotel is next to a pharmacy and super market.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by David Brañas | Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear R, thank you very much for choosing us and for your great review! We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

The dungeon

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Its location
Location: Prado, Plaza Mayor, Botanical gardens, Royal Palace, many restaurants, lively.
The hotel has nice amenities, it is clean, in a nice walk-able location, however the pictures are really misleading. If you get a room, like we did, with "views" inside their courtyard BEWARE. You have to keep the black blackouts drapes (yes they are black) closed otherwise anyone with a room across from you can see into your room. Unless the black blackouts are closed you have NO privacy. And then it feels like being in a dungeon with no windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by David Brañas, Hotel Management
Dear Frequent Travel. thank you very much for taking the time needed in publish your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our location and services. Concerning the room, we want to let you know that we have several types of rooms (facing Mayor St, the patio or Costanilla de Santiago Street). We kindly ask you to contact the recepction when you have any issue during your stay, in this case we would have show you another room. We regret the inconveniences caused. Hoping to welcome you back very soon, Best regards, David Brañas | Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

great staff and great room

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: the great shower!
Cons: i've seen it in all the hotels in spain that the door of the bathroom shower is just half. With the half shower glass, everything else gets wet later
Location: churches, plazas, markets...
I'm so happy to have such a cute hotel where staff is great and room especially the bathroom clean. It is so close to where we want to go and surrounded by all the markets and churches and the plazas. No need to take the metro to go see a rich place, a good place to eat and to just go around. Was glad to have gotten this hotel. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2016 by David BRañas, Hotel Management
Dear Ace, thank you very much for choosing us! Its a pleasure to know that you have had a great stay in our hotel, enjoying our location and staff's work. We hope to welcome you back very soon! With the best wishes, David Brañas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2016
problem with bathroom accessibility. i though i requested an accessible bathroom but obviously didn't
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by David Brañas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time needed in publish your experience and rating our hotel. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Concerning your request, we apologize but we never receive it, sorry for the inconveniences. We hope to welcome you back very soon, Best regards, David Brañas | Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and central

Posted May 7, 2016
Fantastic location just across the road from plaza mayor and 5 mins walk from Puerto del Sol
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by David Brañas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing us! Its a pleasure for us to know that you have had a nice stay due to our great location. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back very soon! With the best wishes, David Brañas | Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place of the hotel is the only good thing

Posted May 6, 2016
The hotel is old you may book another hotel with the same price ramge but better
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by David Brañas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing us. Concerning your review, we are so sorry if you haven´t liked the hotel, but we want to let you know that our hotel was opened on 2009, and it we have improved last year all the rooms, changing the floor, and the furnitures. We hope you to give us a new chance to try to change your opinion. With the best wishes, David Brañas | Front Desk Manager