Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great location; great hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We stayed at Petit Palace Opera after spending a few nights in a Barcelona hostel-- this place felt like heaven in comparison. The location cannot be beat; essentially any place you want to go in the city is walking distance. There are many great resturants nearby and some pretty cool bars to check out. The elevator was a little sketchy, but we survived without any problems & just opted for the stairs most times. We did not try the breakfast, or any meals, with the hotel. A friend accidently dropped a glass in our cup and the cleaning service showed up almost immediately to help us with the mess. Also, a big plus was that the front desk girls were fluent in English, which is a huge plus in Madrid. I highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Trinidad Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear Kirsten; Thank you for your interest and for making us so happy with your nice words about your stay. We are more than happy knowing we were part of a great experience and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. Warm regards. Trinidad Lopez. Front desk manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Terrible place to stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The only ONE nice thing about this hotel is the location. Everything else is terrible. Staff is not friendly and they don't have the guest's best interest in mind. Our room felt like a sauna and the water in the shower was hot as almost boiling hot and extremely difficult to regulate the temperature; when we approahced th front desk, basically they said there was nothing they could do. The rooms are tiny. Don't book this hotel. There are much better hotels in Madrid for a lower price
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Trinidad Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear Elvia; Thank you for your reservation. I am sorry to read your lines about your stay. I am very sorry to know about your experience. Air conditioning is not working untill Spring/Summer and the only option is to have a room change. I am sorry if we were not able to esplain this propertly to you. We do really look forwar to welcome you back and offer you a better experience as many of our customers have already enjoyed. Warm regards. Trinidad Lopez. Front desk manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire UK

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Quiet, convenient and unfussy
Cons: The room did not have any hooks, either in the bathroom or elsewhere, so nowhere to drape towels or hang things other than one very small wardrobe
Location: Excellent location but as right opposite a night club was noisy through night. Did not disturb me, but colleagues not happy.
A comfortable stay at this convenient hotel which has been tastefully modernised but retains some lovely older features, eg. wooden staircase and interesting cast iron lift shaft, albeit now modernised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Trinidad Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear guest; thank you for your reservation and for making us so happy with your review. I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. Warm regards. Trinidad Lopez. Front desk manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton UK

Perfect hotel, right in city centre

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing, all good
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Opera/Royal Palace 5 mins walk, Puerta del Sol on the doorstep, where you can get hop on/off bus tour and metro.
Wonderful stay at the PP Arenal. Right in the heart of the city, on the doorstep of Sol, 5 mins to Opera House and Royal Palace. Lovely big room, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Huge and very comfortable bed. Services include free sightseeing tour (which we will catch up with next time) and free iPad hire. Great breakfast - lots to choose from and all very fresh. Staff were exceptional both before our arrive and during our stay, thank you. Can't wait to come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Trinidad Lopez., Hotel Management
Dear Jane; Thank you for making us so happy with your review about your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Warm regards. Trinidad Lopez. Front desk manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgewater, NJ

Excellent location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Cons: The house keeping should not vacuum the hallway at 9am.
Stayed twice in the same trip for total of 5 nights. The best for this hotel is location and helpful staff. The hotel is within a few minutes walking distance to Metro and Renfe Cercanias. There is a Taxi stand near by as well. Hotel staff did their best to assist us including arrange Taxi pickup for our early morning flight. The family room (two twin and a bunk beds) is adequate for us. The room is small but it's ok. The only thing may prevent us going back to this hotel is lack of the luggage storage. We were going Seville for two days and would be back to the same hotel. But they were not able to let us to leave one of our suitcase.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Trinidad Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear guest; Thank your for your reservation and for taking part of your time sharing your feedback about your stay. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by my colleagues in the housekeeping department. We are very happy Reading you enjoied your stay and our reception staff were part of a great experience. Let me take the opportunity to explain our luggages room is really small and we can not offer lock service during different stays to our guest since we do not have enough space or ensurance for this service in case of any unforeseen occurrence. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards. Trinidad Lopez. Front desk manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent Hotel in Heart of Madrid

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: We stayed 10 nights at this hotel recently. I picked it because I has such a great experience at the neighbouring Petit Palace Puerto de Sol 3 years ago and that hotel was booked for the room type we needed this time. I am pleased to say the experience this time was just as great. I recommend both hotels. They are clean, safe, and the staff are extremely friendly. Note that they offer portable WiFi rentals (€5/day) and free bicycle rentals, also they helped us with airport transfers. We were a family of 5 adult women sharing a room and were very comfortable. We had a number of requests (including to change rooms due to a malfunctioning bathroom door) and each request was met with a smile and a solution. Every time we entered or left the building we were greeted by the front desk staff. If you don't already know, this hotel (and it's sister location) are right in Puerto del Sol, the heart of old Madrid so you have access to everything at your doorstep but it comes with the traffic and noise of a busy nightlife too (though it is on a pedestrian street). This is my hotel of choice when visiting Madrid.
Cons: Due to the downtown location it can be quite noisy at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but noisy street facing rooms

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
If you want a good night's sleep you need a room facing the rear of the property (courtyard). There is a discoteca called Joy Eslava directly across the street. The issue isn't the music, this issue is the crowd in front that congregates there from 1:00 AM - 7:00 AM each night. You will hear loud talking, laughing, shouting, and yelling through the entire night. Granted the thick glass windows cut down on the noise and you probably will be fine with ear plugs, light to moderate sleepers will have a problem, guaranteed. The street is noisy during the day as well, but you won't be disturbed during the day unless you are trying to catch a nap. The first night I was in the room facing the street, but switched rooms to the back. Huge difference. The rear courtyard room was extremely quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Very nice hotel and staff. Clean rooms. GREAT LOCATION.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, shame our lock broke.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Good location and nice room.excellent breakfast. Unfortunately the lock broke on our door when we wanted to collect our bags to check out, and by the time it was fixed we had run up a 15 euro waiting charge on our taxi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth australia

Great location

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Room comfortable and clean only problem was the cigaret smoke that came thru the aircon when anyone was smoking which was pretty much all the time .