Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

posizione ottimale per visitare la città

Posted Apr 21, 2016
la posizione è strategica sia per muoversi in citta (si à praticamente al centro di tutto) sia per i mezzi dato che la fermata della metro è davanti all'ingresso giudizio complessivamente positivo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from villeneuve sur lot

Champions league Real

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Super séjour Excellent emplacement Personnel accueillant Place animée Commerces à proximite
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

Clean hotel right in the historic heart of Madrid

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff. The clean room with a comfortable bed. The incredible location - our window looked out onto the Plaza, never dull.
Cons: A 'fridge would have been handy, but it is an inexpensive hotel with lots of things going for it so this is not a quibble.
Location: Cercanias line C3 to get to Aranjuez and El Escurial. Loads of Museums and galleries. Lots of cheap places to eat. Rail trips to Toledo and Segovia.
This excellent little hotel has one star because its facilities are simple, but it is comfortable and clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful. It is located right in the historic centre, about 15 minutes walk from the Royal Palace and Cathedral one way and about the same from the Prado and El Retiro Park the other way. There are inexpensive restaurants immediately to the south, and smart shops immediately to the north. There are several supermarkets within easy range, so it is possible to buy cheap food and drink. The room had a table and two chairs, so it was convenient to get a salad etc (Lidl 59c per litre wine was quite drinkable!). The front door is very near to the bear and tree statue that is the city's symbol. The entrance to the metro station is about 200m from the door, so travelling in from the airport was quite easy. As the station also has Cercanias trains, another time I would look into a combined ticket from the airport and change. There are also buses and a taxi stand very close. We did not use the metro much as most of the things we wanted to see were an easy walk from the hotel. Several reviewers have criticised the breakfast. It is an adequate fuel stop and it is free - compare with the competition who generally provide nothing. There is a café downstairs if you want a change. Please note that "hostal" means simple hotel and not hostel. Pleasant lounge with big TV. TV in room, although I could only manage news and weather in Spanish.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC - USA

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: its location is excellent.
Cons: Staff are not very friendly. The overnight attendant, Russian lady, was very nice and accommodating.
Location: that was the highlight of this place.
TV was too small, room was clean, but the long window curtains were full of dust and they were located above the bed, not convenient at all. The tv remote control never worked, staff was told but it was never fixed or replaced. Location is great, close to everything. Breakfast was very simple, but they repeat the same products every day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México

Jóvenes que quieran fiesta hasta tarde en la noche

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: La habitación y el lobby.
Cons: Teléfono en la habitación, opciones ecológicas: no cambiar los blancos a menos que el cliente lo solicite; evitar el plástico en lo posible.
Location: El centro de Madrid tiene todo con sólo caminar unos cuantos minutos. Lo más lejano es el Museo Sorolla, pero en Metro es rapidísimo.
Excelente uso del espacio, muy cómoda habitación y con un baño privado muy adecuado. Incluso se puede cambiar el idioma de la televisión, lo cual es una maravilla, lástima que la programación se pierda al cambiar el canal o apagar el aparato. Primera vez que me quedo en un hostal en Madrid sin teléfono en la habitación, lo cual no sería problema si el personal se tomara la molestia de avisar que se me llamó. Dos veces. La explicación que dieron es que hay huéspedes que contactan a cualquier desconocido, les dicen en dónde se hospedan y luego no quieren saber más de ellos. Creepy. En fin, la próxima vez volveré a los también hermosos hostales que, por menos de la mitad de lo que pagué en éste están en placitas céntricas pero no escandalosas, también con ascensor, teléfono en la habitación y sin el bullicio normal que se tiene en un punto tan crucial como lo es la Puerta del Sol. Ojalá reemplazaran los vasos desechables de plástico en la habitación por vidrio. Mil veces más ecológico. Opté por comprar mis vasos de vidrio, lavarlos y usarlos cada día, sin tocar los de plástico. Otro aspecto en que no me hicieron caso fue que no era necesario cambiar ni toallas ni sábanas cada tercer día. Por lo demás, hermoso lugar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Für günstigen Urlaub in Madrid perfekt!

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Wer auf Luxus verzichten kann und günstig Urlaub in perfekter Lage in Madrid machen möchte, ist hier richtig. Es gibt mehrere Bäder auf dem Gang, im Zimmer hat jeder ein eigenes Waschbecken. Betten sind bequem, Zimmer sind sauber, Service ist nett. Zum Frühstück gibt es Kaffee, Tee, sowie etwas Wurst, Käse und Marmelade auf Toast. Nicht der Wahnsinn, aber alles was man braucht um morgens in den Tag zu starten. Insgesamt sehr zu empfehlen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a HOSTAL

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Very central location and much to see nearby. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The description must be changed to HOSTAL.
Location: Very central location and much to see nearby. Vodaphone Sol is very popular square with many entertaining buskers etc.
I can find nowhere that described this establishment as a hostal. My confirmation email stated hotel. Therefore, it was a bit rough. My room heating had to be on full as it was cold time of year, and therefore could not be turned down. Therefore, I had to open the windows at night and caught a germ. Breakfast was basic. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. For a hostal, it was probably OK, but Expedia's description needs amending.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel accueillant mais mal isolé

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: La fait qu'il se trouve en plein centre de Madrid est un vrai point fort.
Cons: l'isolation
Location: La plupart des musées sont à environ 15minutes à pieds ! Le musée du Prado est incontournable, il faut y aller !
L'hôtel est bien situé c'est pour cela que nous l'avions choisi, cependant il est très mal isolé, nous avions l'impression d'avoir nos voisins au pied du lit !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Posizione ottima e buon ostello

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Ostello situato nella zona centrale di Madrid. Facile accesso alla metropolitana situata nella piazza di fronte e molte delle attrazioni sono raggiungibili a piedi. Camere molto semplici con riscaldamento e aria condizionata. I 2 bagni comuni sono sempre puliti. Colazione molto basica con pane burro marmellata e salumi con succo, caffè the e latte (mancavano le brioches ). Nel complesso consiglierei questo ostello.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JFC

You get what tou pay for

Posted Feb 16, 2016
You get what you pay for... But no matter how cheap a hotel might be it is no excuse for a dirty room and dirty bathroom. The bathroom eas full of hairs and the trashcan had used toilet paper (from the previous guest I presume) which hadn't been emptied.