Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Special Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, decor, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Breakfast too pricey. We opted for coffee & walked to close by places that served nice pastries. We heard from other guests that dinner was amazing.
Location: Lots of great places to eat and shop nearby. Easy walking access to city and yet in a quiet safe neighborhood.
The Hotel Orfila in Madrid Spain was such a wonderful surprise. It is truly a special place. It was like stepping in to a movie set from the 1800's. It is located down a quiet street in a nice area of Madrid that is within walking distance of all the wonderful museums and sights in the city that one must see. There is a special ambiance that you sense from the moment you step through the stone portico and see the view through the properties tea/dinning/breakfast room in to a charming garden where there are tables with white table clothes and umbrellas overlooking a lower garden and surrounded by a Trompe-l'oeil stone wall with gorgeous plants disguising the fact you are in the middle of a large city. A staff member, Ruben, met us when we stepped out our taxi and welcomed us warmly to the property. He helped us with our bags and brought us to the desk where Marcos was incredibly friendly and welcoming. He explained everything to us and made us feel like we could ask him anything to make our stay comfortable. The staff in the dinning/breakfast area was very professional and just so friendly, especially Youness. He couldn't have been more attentive and always with a genuine smile. The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was all marble and the shower was great! Always a relief when traveling to have a great shower that also drains well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Madrid. We walked to all the great museums. Don't miss this one, it's memorable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nassau, Bahamas

Nice hotel in city center

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Hotel located on a quiet street but central to mayor attractions and shopping. Wonderful atmosphere and helpful staff. I will stay again and recommend the hotel if you like the old world charm and sophistication.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in an upmarket part of town

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Great stay, super location being about a half hour walk from all the main sites. Really nice staff. Only drawbacks were the room wasn't exactly what I ordered - not a king size bed, but two singles; no English movie channels at all. Nice big room as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful oasis in the centre of Madrid

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Bathroom slightly too small
Location: All major attractions within walking distance
So happy we chose this hotel, oasis of calm and tranquility in the centre of the city. Was lovely to return after all sightseeing and walking our legs off! Breakfast is beautiful and evening meal is highly recommended. The chef is up there with the likes of Michelin star chefs! Well done!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Quiet hotel in busy Madrid, close to Chueca and walkable to many sites. The bathtub with jets was great but my bathroom wasn't as clean as I had hoped. Great staff and very pretty terrace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Elegance in the Heart of Madrid

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Everything! Staff is wonderful. See review for detail.
Location: Located in a great area. Many wonderful restaurants, bars, and high-end shopping near by. Within walking distance of everything you would want!
This is a wonderful small hotel in a quiet area with superb service. From your driver picking you up at the airport to your checkout, everything is handled with such lovely attention to detail. Staff is phenomenal and service is exceptional. Rooms are spacious and beautiful. Public spaces are lovely. While this charming hotel is located on a quiet street, you are very conveniently located and within walking distance to historical and cultural sights. High-end shopping is also close by. I highly recommend this hotel for its beauty, but most importantly for its staff. Their suggestions were spot-on and they truly made it their mission to make our stay exceptional. I cannot wait to visit Madrid once again! Thanks to Hotel Orfila and it's wonderful staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel, good for biz meetings

Posted Aug 1, 2016
A nice hotel located near the city center. Very large rooms. Great meeting areas. Was there for business, was very convenient. Will come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very nice and good services

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Excellent hotel good services good food. Beautiful garden Nice rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique and intimate

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Very personal and friendly yet respectful
A nice haven in a busy city. Off of a small street, great courtyard, great rooms and decor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Oasis in the heart of Madrid

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The staff are amazing, very personal experience. I don't bother with reviews, but this hotel deserves it.