Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK.

Excellent boutique hotel in Madrid

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The Orfila is a top boutique hotel, conveniently situated in downtown Madrid. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The Superior room quality is very good, with very comfortable beds, modern bathroom with jacuzzi and quite spacious. The restaurant is good but expensive. You won't get away with less than 100 Euros for two dining. Make sure the breakfast is included in the room rate. If not, the full buffet breakfast is an outrageous 33 Euros per head! Overall though, a lovely hotel and we will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Beautiful Hotel, Quaint. Excellent Staff!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Rooms were Great but the staff made the place wonderful. Very Attentive. Very Helpful.
Cons: I really didn't find anything that needed to be improved
Location: Location was great. On a 'not so busy street' but a 1 - 2 block walk to restaurants, etc.
Hotel Staff was great. Check in time was 2:00PM but had a room ready for me at 9:00am when I arrived. Very attentive. Loved the fact that it was not on a busy street. Less than 3 block walk to restaurants, nightlife, etc. Lobby was quaint. Overall a great place to be. Not so much for families but couples, business travelers, etc. I would stay again if I was in Madrid!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

True Gem in Madrid

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: A small luxurious hotel with top notch service. Wonderful friendly staff with a great restaurant. We'll be back!
Cons: Not one thing. If you don't like this hotel, there has to be something wrong with you!
Location: Madrid is a great city to walk around and see all of the sights. The hotel is centrally located and not too far from the beautiful parks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent small five star hotel in quiet location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Comfortable room, slightly old fashioned hotel but excellent service and breakfast, we tried the restaurant one night which was good but not outstanding. Quiet location slightly away from the sights and nightlife.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south wales uk

Lovely upmarket hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The location was brilliant, quiet, and within easy walking distance to both Madrid centre and Salamanca
Cons: Nothing, we liked everything
Location: Perfect location, near the metro, easy walking distance to centres
Everything about this hotel is perfect , wonderful staff, extremely clean throughout with the characteristics of a period residence... beautiful, the food was absolutely top class and we will definitely return if we ever visit Madrid again in the future. Highly recommended for the more discerning traveler....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Special Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, decor, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Breakfast too pricey. We opted for coffee & walked to close by places that served nice pastries. We heard from other guests that dinner was amazing.
Location: Lots of great places to eat and shop nearby. Easy walking access to city and yet in a quiet safe neighborhood.
The Hotel Orfila in Madrid Spain was such a wonderful surprise. It is truly a special place. It was like stepping in to a movie set from the 1800's. It is located down a quiet street in a nice area of Madrid that is within walking distance of all the wonderful museums and sights in the city that one must see. There is a special ambiance that you sense from the moment you step through the stone portico and see the view through the properties tea/dinning/breakfast room in to a charming garden where there are tables with white table clothes and umbrellas overlooking a lower garden and surrounded by a Trompe-l'oeil stone wall with gorgeous plants disguising the fact you are in the middle of a large city. A staff member, Ruben, met us when we stepped out our taxi and welcomed us warmly to the property. He helped us with our bags and brought us to the desk where Marcos was incredibly friendly and welcoming. He explained everything to us and made us feel like we could ask him anything to make our stay comfortable. The staff in the dinning/breakfast area was very professional and just so friendly, especially Youness. He couldn't have been more attentive and always with a genuine smile. The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was all marble and the shower was great! Always a relief when traveling to have a great shower that also drains well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Madrid. We walked to all the great museums. Don't miss this one, it's memorable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nassau, Bahamas

Nice hotel in city center

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Hotel located on a quiet street but central to mayor attractions and shopping. Wonderful atmosphere and helpful staff. I will stay again and recommend the hotel if you like the old world charm and sophistication.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in an upmarket part of town

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Great stay, super location being about a half hour walk from all the main sites. Really nice staff. Only drawbacks were the room wasn't exactly what I ordered - not a king size bed, but two singles; no English movie channels at all. Nice big room as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful oasis in the centre of Madrid

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Bathroom slightly too small
Location: All major attractions within walking distance
So happy we chose this hotel, oasis of calm and tranquility in the centre of the city. Was lovely to return after all sightseeing and walking our legs off! Breakfast is beautiful and evening meal is highly recommended. The chef is up there with the likes of Michelin star chefs! Well done!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Quiet hotel in busy Madrid, close to Chueca and walkable to many sites. The bathtub with jets was great but my bathroom wasn't as clean as I had hoped. Great staff and very pretty terrace.