Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Quiet hotel in busy Madrid, close to Chueca and walkable to many sites. The bathtub with jets was great but my bathroom wasn't as clean as I had hoped. Great staff and very pretty terrace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Elegance in the Heart of Madrid

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Everything! Staff is wonderful. See review for detail.
Location: Located in a great area. Many wonderful restaurants, bars, and high-end shopping near by. Within walking distance of everything you would want!
This is a wonderful small hotel in a quiet area with superb service. From your driver picking you up at the airport to your checkout, everything is handled with such lovely attention to detail. Staff is phenomenal and service is exceptional. Rooms are spacious and beautiful. Public spaces are lovely. While this charming hotel is located on a quiet street, you are very conveniently located and within walking distance to historical and cultural sights. High-end shopping is also close by. I highly recommend this hotel for its beauty, but most importantly for its staff. Their suggestions were spot-on and they truly made it their mission to make our stay exceptional. I cannot wait to visit Madrid once again! Thanks to Hotel Orfila and it's wonderful staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel, good for biz meetings

Posted Aug 1, 2016
A nice hotel located near the city center. Very large rooms. Great meeting areas. Was there for business, was very convenient. Will come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very nice and good services

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Excellent hotel good services good food. Beautiful garden Nice rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique and intimate

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Very personal and friendly yet respectful
A nice haven in a busy city. Off of a small street, great courtyard, great rooms and decor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Oasis in the heart of Madrid

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The staff are amazing, very personal experience. I don't bother with reviews, but this hotel deserves it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Delightful boutique hotel in Madrid

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything. Excellent location, beautiful guest rooms and common areas, very personable and helpful staff.
Cons: honestly nothing
Location: The location is right near Plaza de Colon and a short walk to the major museums (Prado, Thyssen) and the shopping in Salamanca.
My wife and I were in London and decided to take a short side trip to Madrid to escape the wretched London weather. So there was not much advance planning. The Hotel Orfila turned out to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we loved it so much we extended our stay. The hotel is in an older Madrid townhouse with beautiful spacious guest rooms. The building itself is magnificent with a wonderful two level courtyard at the back which is serene and the perfect place to have your wonderful breakfast buffet or a late afternoon cocktail. The staff is very welcoming and very helpful in finding just the right restaurants for our dinners in Madrid. All of the staff is gracious and charming. The location is perfect - a quiet street in a very nice neighborhood and a short walk to all of the major museums and points of interest in Madrid. We felt like we were at home (if our home were a beautiful 19th century mansion in Madrid.) My wife and I travel a lot and so have fairly high standards for our hotels. The Hotel Orfila is one of the best and I look forward to this being my home for future visits to Madrid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg

Vieille maison traditionnelle bien située.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Le calme et la situation centrale
Cons: Chambres à rénover, surtout la moquette et les rideaux Eau potable en quantité suffisante Préparation de la chambre pour la nuit
Location: Quartier ancien tranquille. Tous les musées importants sont á proximité.
Les chambres devraient être raffraîchies. Surtout la moquette est dans un mauvais état. Dans un hôtel de cette catégorie la femme de chambre devrait repasser le soir. On ne reçoit qu'un demi litre d'eau fraîche pour deux personnes, alors que l'eau du robinet a un goût assez prononcé de chlore. Le service de restauration est gentil, mais pas très professionnel. (Oublis, manque de courtoisie)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Excelente hotelPersonal de buen nivel habitaciones de buen tamaño y muy buen restaurant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

The perfect place for a visit to Madrid

Posted Jun 8, 2016
I booked the Hotel Orfila for a week-long family trip to Madrid (four of us, including young-adult children). We were absolutely delighted with the hotel. First, everyone on the staff was just great- very friendly, attentive and helpful. Essentially everyone speaks English, but they also were very gracious when I practiced my rusty Spanish. Second, it's in a great location- a high-end residential neighborhood that is an easy 15-20 minute walk down the Paseo deal Prado to the Prado, many great restaurants within blocks, plus the hotel is on a side street so it was absolutely quiet. Third, our room was furnished with antique furniture in a way that is elegant yet very comfortable- plus a/c worked well, which is not always the case with older hotels. Fourth, breakfast in the dining area that overlooks the patio (or on the patio itself) was so pleasant that we would linger over coffee and newspapers- great selection- for well over an hour every morning. Finally, we did have one 'non-breakfast' meal at the hotel and it was excellent.