Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel with delicicious food in pretty area

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: See above.
I stayed at TOTEM with my sister for four nights. The area is affluent and very pretty with narrow tree-lined streets. The location is a perfect starting point for sightseeing and shopping with many small exclusive boutiques lining the streets in the area round the hotel. The staff were all young and charming, very helpful and with big smiles at all times. The food served in the Dining room and the lighter options on the Bar Menu were all delicious and extremely well presented. We also enjoyed the most wonderful breakfasts in the dining room - my favourite order was a slice of toasted wholemeal dough spread with ricotta cheese, edamame beans and finely chopped raw spinach leaves. The only negative comment is that I had to admit to my sister that I was very glad we were not sleeping in the same bedroom at Totem. The rooms were well -laid out, but extremely small'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: the location and its newness
Cons: Nothing just yet
Location: Great stores all around, and the Mercado de la Paz which is fantastic.
I've stayed at the Totem Hotel three times now and it is a fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of the nicest neighborhood in Madrid. The hotel is fairly new (less than 1 year) and it is very well kept. It is located just under 5 minute walk to Platea, and the best shops in the city. The bar is very nice and lively in the evenings without being a mob scene. The rooms are not very large, but large enough and very well appointed. Definitely a gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chic and stylish.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel, exellent facilities and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice boutique hotel in Serrano

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nicely decorated hotel with beautiful interiors. Wonderful and helpful staff, both at the concierge and the bellboys. The room was a bit small but it was well-designed to maximize the space available. Might be better to get a bigger room than the standard for 2 people. Location was great. A pleasure to stay here. Will come back here if I return to Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great, Chic hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Loved the room and hotel staff. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was a bit more spacious although it did not have a terrace but rather a large window with city views. Bathroom was a great size with a huge shower. The room size was good especially with the small sitting area adjacent to the window. My only dislike was the size of the bed. They were very small twin sizes although the bedding was comfortable. Location is great as well. We walked to various main attractions from Totem which is located in a pretty upscale neighborhood. Overall loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great location and very comfortable hotel. Staff very polite and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York

Stylish and comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: I enjoy the design of the hotel. The lobby feels like a private club. The room feels like a chic apartment.
Cons: Could use more staff at the restaurant during breakfast hour.
Location: Location is perfect for a short trip of shopping and eating.
The hotel is beautifully renovated. The interior design of the hotel is very modern and chic. The lobby is very comfortable with lots of seatings and a nice bar. The staff is very helpful and friendly! Our corner junior suite is absolutely the divine!! The room is drenched with sunlight through floor to ceiling windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Terrific staff, very nice hotel...

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff!
Cons: Not much
Location: Close to metros to take you anywhere in Madrid.
The Totem is in a very nice, very convenient part of Madrid. The staff was top notch and very helpful. When I had a problem with street noise in my first room, they moved me the next day to a quieter room. From the front desk to the bartenders and valets...all top notch service. I will definitely come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Staff and lounge area.
Cons: The pictures of the room on the web site. They must have used a fish eye lense to take the pictures.
Location: Very close to public transportation and shopping
The standard room is so small that two people can not pass each other between the foot of the bed and the wall. There aren't regular doors just sliding doors because there isn't room for a door that opens. The lighting in the bathroom is about as bright as a bar at 2 in the morning. The sink in the bathroom is about 12" across. There is no place to put your suitcase and no dresser or drawers to put your clothes in during your stay. Looking out the window you see the back of other buildings - some with lines drying their clothes and other buildings with painted walls. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, the bar is kind of fun with bright blue couches. The breakfast was tasty in a motel setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Well-located hotel in a great neighborhood

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Location is great. Near Serrano Metro.
Cons: Our only complaint was that the rooms were painted in dark blue. While the rooms are not large, the interior paint scheme made the room seem smaller.
Location: The hotel is in an upscale shopper's mecca. It is a short walk to the newly renovated Museo Archeologico. Many excellent eating choices nearby.
Very nice hotel in a great neighborhood. Staff was attentive and room was spotlessly clean.