Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, great location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Location: Right in the heart of Madrid.
Wonderful hotel in an old, updated building. They have "family" rooms that comfortably fit four people. The hotel staff is extremely warm and helpful. And the breakfast is ample and delicious, with tasty breads, Spanish cheeses, meats, and pastries. We had a brief but great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: The staff were not particularly friendly, but helpful when asked direct questions about restaurants and where to get hop on bus.
Location: the hotel is in a great location, close to major sites and nice restaurants. The hop on, hop off bus stop is very close by.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant and they had a small bar for drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Smell from floor vent in the bathroom.
Location: Good location to walk to all main sites.
Hotel is close to main sites, easily walkable to Plaza Mayor, Palacio to the west and Parque del Retiro to the east. It is also approx 15 min walk from Atocha rail station where you can get trains to Toledo and El Escoral. The rooms are a good size, including the bathroom and have good aminities. The only unfortunate thing is there is a vent in the bathroom floor which sometimes smells, take a good room spray. Very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from L.A Cal. USA

Real nice hotel in the middle of the city

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Clean, cheap & very nice looking.
Cons: The breakfast prizes - too expensive, the Cafes out side give better experience for 20% of the prize.
Location: Walking distant to everything that need to be seen in the city. Close to the local bars, so you can come back walking even though your drunk!
Very nice and welcoming staff at the desk, clean & quiet rooms, excellent place for those who want to view the city & come back whenever for a relaxed nap and a goodnight sleep. The hotel staff are always nice. smiling & taking care. especially the bearded blond dude!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Saddle River, NJ

Location is PERFECT for all you want to do

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The location and the breakfast is enough to get you through til late in the afternoon. There is also a taxi stand RIGHT out the front door.
Cons: The color in the rooms are just a stark white and not very comforting or home feeling
Location: GREAT LOCATION next to every tourist attraction and food eatery possible
The Tryp Atocha was a perfection location for doing anything in the City. You are walking distance from any location you want. Even if it is the REAL MADRID soccer stadium, YES a bit of a walk, but doable. I did it! The courtyard rooms are much quieter then the front rooms. Try to upgrade to a premium room at least, for the rooms are VERY SMALL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would Stay Here Again

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Room size.
The room was spacious. The bathroom good-sized. A couple minute walk to a lot to see -plazas, food, shopping, tours. Area was safe. Staff pleasant. On-site food was fine - nothing special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Nice location but shower was insufficient as it was too small, awkward to get in with a low ceiling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and it worth it

Posted Aug 19, 2016
First , I booked a room in the next hotel, Catalona Atocha , it was too hot so we checked out after two hours and we move to Tryp and we really enjoyed there special it had good A/c and we had a good balcony. I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc,ny

Convenient location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
We travel to Europe quite often. But this was the first time that we visited Madrid. We found the hotel to be very convenient for our stay. We were able to walk to many places and found it close to public transportation for travel outside of Madrid as well. For the price we paid, it's a pretty good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great city centre hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Great location in the city centre, really friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast buffet
Cons: Would have liked a proper double bed
Location: The hotel is in a great location handy for the Prado, main station, and lots of bars and restaurants
Really enjoyed staying at the Tryp. Great city centre location and surprisingly quiet. Staff could not have been more helpful in providing advice on things like train times and the easiest way to get to places. We thought that the breakfast buffet was a cut those in similar hotels and it set us up for the day. Our room was clean and comfortable and our request for extra pillows was no problem. Would definitely stay here again.