Ratings based on 1,682 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of the city cente.

Posted May 28, 2017
Convenient location. Had a bad encounter with the front desk. She was rude and obnoxious. I asked about a trolley to bring the luggage down. She told me they had no trolley, I told her it was a lie because I had seen one the day before. She then told me I would have to wait until her colleague arrives at 9, because only her one was working. Bad encounters like this can put a bad name in your business. This should have been handled in a more polite manner. I therefore has to drag my luggage down to the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abuja, Nigeria

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted May 27, 2017
This hotel is in the Gran Via area of Madrid and in the heart of the city. Restaurants, shops, the Metro, and other places are footsteps away. The shopping is great and it is a nice area to walk around. The shower in the room could use an upgrade, but there was also a to with a shower head and that worked fine. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and in centre of Madrid

Posted May 18, 2017
No tea service in room. Later check out bonus. Keep your luggage for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas ,NV

Construction for whole week

Posted May 18, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel was location Expedia charged me so much for this hotel and hotel was under construction/ renovation for 8 day I have to suffer from so many Asthma breathing problems, because also they was painting walls as well Hotel staff at the front desk was not helpful We stay in this hotel for 10 nights and only one time I have asked receptionist to make local phone for me ,because I don't speak Spanish she won't do it Bad very expensive vacation Shame on this s Hotel and Expedia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to metro stop right on gran via

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice breakfast buffet many items to choose from. Nice street view. From roof top bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Room was on the small side, but not a problem.
Location: Great location. Shopping, restaurants, sites, etc... Very close to everything.
The hotel is in a great location. Quick walk to the squares, plazas, markets and shopping. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in our rate and was good quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Fantastic location for old Madrid.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The location was key (see main review). Otherwise, the hotel was relatively modern and it was very clean.
Cons: We had minor issues - just keep the quality consistent. The staff need customer service training - not openly helpful, bordering rude at times.
Location: Great for strolling along Gran Via, picking up a tour/tourist bus, shopping and eating out are all just minutes away (see main review).
This hotel is in a fantastic location, in terms of being able to walk to major "sights" or picking up a tourist bus, for example. Whilst there is nothing to behold in the opposite Plaza del Callao, the square has some nice amenities (e.g. cafes). A five to ten minute walk in one direction along Gran Via will find you in the pleasant Plaza de Espana. Walk perhaps 15 minutes in the other direction and find yourself at the picturesque Fuente de Cibeles (near metro/bus stops Banco de Espana). The Gran Via itself is great for shopping or eating, alike. A five minute walk from the Plaza de Callao will find you in the Puerta del Sol (square), where you can then start to walk down the beautiful Calle Mayor, with its cafes, bars and shops. The Plaza Mayor and Plaza de San Miguel (Mercado San Miguel) are no more than ten minutes' walk from the hotel. Accessing the hotel from the airport isn't fantastic. Without using a taxi, you will require either an airport bus ride (5 Euros per person) to your choice of Banco de Espana or Atocha Renfe, followed by a short journey on the Metro, when you'll need to connect or walk the last part to Plaza del Callao. Otherwise, make a number of connections on the Metro system from the airport. The hotel was pleasant, and clean. It was relatively modern and we encountered no issues. It doesn't quite feel like a 4 star hotel. The air conditioning was old, but worked fine. A little shabby around the edges, but we would use again, if in Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great Location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: It's location.
Cons: How about having a place where you could get a cup of coffee, orange juice and a croissant for a nominal price and not €16.50 per person.
Location: See above.
The Capitol Vinnci Hotel, located on Calle Gran Via, is a wonderful spot and close to so many things. We were able to walk to the Prada Museum, National Palace and the Museum of Queen Sofia. There's also many different restaurants and shops close-by. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Madrid for the first time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fabulous location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location, sound proof bedroom, decor fresh, discrete maids, view from room, terraces.
Cons: When leaving we asked for a room to get changed, and we were directed to the toilet on the first floor. This was a disappointing end.
Location: Close to Metro, excellent shops, bars and restaurants, really central to main tourist attractions.
Perfect location to see all of the sights. Room very quiet even although it was on the main Gran Via. Lovely bathroom with clean fresh decor. Bed firm and comfortable with fresh crisp sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Great location but beware of the wardrobe in 405 !

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See notes on wardrobe above
Location: Great location
Room was good but the hanging side of the wardrobe was virtually unusable. The door only opened half way as it was being blocked by a bedside cabinet which could not be moved. This ,coupled with the fact that the hanging rail was mounted front to back as opposed to side to side made hanging up my clothes almost impossible ! Resorted to leaving them on the back of a chair - not what I would expect from a supposed 4 star hotel