Ratings based on 775 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great location, great hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building, immaculate rooms, superb location.
Cons: A slightly heated pool!
Location: The park is close by, but we loved the shops and cafes roundabout too.
When we arrived at Madrid airport, BA had lost our bags. We had only what we were wearing and our handbags. It was a real relief then to find lovely Clarins products in our room that we could use, as well as toothbrushes and toothpaste (a nice touch). The beds were very comfortable, the pool and poolside service great (though the pool itself is super-freezing). Everything was immaculate and the location was perfect - we were close to lots of lovely shops, which is handy when you don't have a change of clothes on you! But also close to the old part of town - a short walk of about 15 -20 minutes t the Cultural Institute and on to Plaza Santa Ana. We were two women on a three-day indulgent break, and we both found Madrid centre very safe and comfortable to walk around at night. But we both really loved this hotel and would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Good quality hotel close to Park & big 3 galleries

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Quality, staff and location.
Cons: Tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms. The breakfasts were very expensive - we went to an excellent place nearby.
Location: Close to the lovely Retiro park and walking distance to the three big art galleries. Also quite close to a metro stop. Atocha train station c 20 mins.
Good hotel close to the excellent Retiro Park and walking distance to the big three art galleries. The room was fine - good shower and large bed in particular - but would have been improved with the inclusion of tea / coffee making facilities. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto.

Nice hotel in a nice area

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The staff and the Wellington club experience just fantastic.
Cons: No
Location: Excellent location.
Great experience and close to Retiro park and several museums. The Retiro metro close by and easy to access the city. Shops and restaurants excellent and one of the hop on hop off stops at the hotels door step. The Wellington club is a must to add to your stay. Five star.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Home away from home in Madrid

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I have been more than 10 years a client of this hotel and I love it! I think the staff is the best that the hotel has. Everyone is so nice and helpful! Is my favorite in Madrid!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mooi maar duur

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Ligging , luxe
Cons: Aangeven prijzen consumptie.
Location: Madrid heeft alleen maar nabije activiteiten
Super mooi , alles kompeet maar zeer duur v w b koffie , ontbijten e.d , zwembad is koud water en als de zon weg is , is het niet aangenaam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Te hoog geprijsd hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Sportfaciliteiten fitnessruimte. Vriendelijk personeel.
Cons: Expedia bij boeking: eerder inzichtelijk wat ontbijt kost en juiste informatie over geboekte bedden geven.
Location: Vlakbij park, metro en winkelgebied.
Bij boeking hebben we een tweepersoons bed geboekt. Bij aankomst stonden er twee eenpersoonsbedjes. Het hotel had geen andere kamer beschikbaar met tweepersoons bed. Dus ze hebben twee bedden tegen elkaar aangeschoven. Heel slecht geslapen omdat de randen van de bedden erg pijn deden als je hierop lag. Meerdere malen per nacht werd je wakker met pijn of slapende ledematen. Het personeel heeft aangegeven dat er bijna geen kamers zijn met een tweepersoons bed, ze konden ons niet helpen aan een andere kamer. Ondanks dat ik bij boeking erbij had gezet kingsize bed, kregen we twee tegen elkaar geschoven bedden. Als ik dat had geweten had ik een ander hotel geboekt. Wat ook erg storend is dat het ontbijt zesendertig euro kost per persoon. De fitnessruimte ging pas open om 10 uur en het zwembad ging open om 11 uur. Erg laat als je vroeg op pad wilt voor zaken of gewoon de stad verkennen. Het personeel van het hotel is erg vriendelijk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Fantastic hotel near Retiro park

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We stayed at the Wellington Hotel for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. It is 5 mins walk to the metro which will drop you right in the heart of Madrid. The staff were excellent and the hotel was great. A highlight for us was the large and delicious buffet breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel in the center of Madrid.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Elegant hotel in the heart of Madrid. Courteous and helpful staff. Great location.
Location: Very close to shopping, restaurants and bars in a very nice part of Madrid. Also convenient for exploring museums and other historical attractions.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Wellington Hotel in Madrid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: There wasn't anything to dislike
Cons: Pillows
Location: Easy walk to all main attractions. Situated on a beautiful avenue with shops, cafes, restaurants etc
Stayed for three nights and wished we had stayed longer. Room was fabulous with a great balcony you can sit out on with a view of the city. Breakfast was amazing. Every choice possible and was open from 7 til 11. At 2 minutes to 11 the chefs were still bringing out fresh food where other hotels they start clearing up 30 minutes before they close. Facilities fabulous. Beautiful pool and outdoor bar and dinning. The Wellington club was outstanding also. Amazing tapas. I cannot fault this hotel and highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Weekend in Madrid

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great hotel in a fabulous area of Madrid. Rooms are small but luxurious. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Only gripe is the pool area is a bit tatty and it is very difficult to get a sun lounger. Overall a good place to stay for a weekend break.