Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muscat

Close to all important places and yet on a quiet s

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Nice experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK place for a one night stay

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Need to have proper concierge, Madurai is a tourist town, there were no maps, everyone of the staff has different opinions of the temple timings, very chaotic, no hot water in the morning, a cold shower... Highly recommend to have a dedicated knowledgeable concierge with proper recommendations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chennai, India

An old hotel getting older

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pandyan was one of the leading hotels in Madurai, now left behind by any new ones. The building needs proper maintenance - not seem to be happening. The restaurant staff seems to have no interest in maintaining the quality of service they used to have.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, matter-of-fact hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
No frills, matter-of-fact place. good to stay on routine business. Breakfast is good especially for South Indian items, and they make a good masala omelette. Some renovation work seems to be going on but it did not bother us at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sri Lanka

Good place to chill out. Prefer a larger lobby .

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and comfortable room
Cons: The lobby should be large and inviting.
Location: Very central
Comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Would have preferred a larger lobby to enable outside visitors to visit the guests of the hotel. There was hardly a lobby to sit and chill out , hence we were confined to the room only. But overall good, a central spot with a friendly staff. The guest toilet needs to be maintained well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Hotel is close to my travel destinations.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Safety deposit box to keep valuables while travelling and holding my luggage plus courteous staff.
Cons: Sink drainage and hot water facilities still need improvement and keeping consistency in Break fast preparations/taste.
Comfortable stay and hotel staff including manager is very helpful and accommodative.
4 out of 5
by Aman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by venkataramanan from Chennai.

Our one night stay at Fortune Pandiyan

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
The food quality has to be better. Does not speak of an ITC hotel standards. Waiters are probably trainees and they have to be trained better in communication, be it Tamil or English. They just stare back at you and nod their head but don't respond to our requirements. After waiting for a considerable time, we have to convey the same thing to the restaurant steward. This was the case even after ascertaining that the waiters speak Tamil.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our Favorite Place!

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, food, rooms, pool, garden, Internet, etc.
Cons: I'm trying very hard to think of something... but I can't.
Location: Excellent location! It is near an excellent mall with a movie theater, food court, great shopping, photo studio, bowling alley, organic grocer, etc.
My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary, and it just seems to get better every time. The staff are endlessly helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, the grassy lawn is wonderful for the children to play in, there is even an extra-shallow pool which is also nice for the children, the food is delicious. We've stayed at 5-star hotels before, but we like this even better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

OK higher end tourist hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: convenient location, staff in restaurant tries very hard with limited menu and buffet. outdoor tandoori barbecue was quite good but not advertised
Cons: beds could be made much more comfortable for so-called Club rooms, very few western food items
Location: perfect location for business with local universities and visits to Meenashki Temple other religious sites. adequate travel office for tours
It is just good enough, buffets acceptable if limited, room ok but bed very firm, marginally comfortable. Hotel is close to Temple and business meetings. overall impression seemed a bit scruffy relative to my last stay 4 years ago.