Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Elegant compound provides a haven

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Heritage Madurai is a lovely compound of buildings and well shaded lanes lovingly updated to meet modern standards. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the pool addictive. It is a little out of the busy temple area so transport is necessary. I found it a little awkward walking through the restaurant to get to the room, and similarly with the pool we walked through the gym since The path to pool showers is unclear. The neighborhood around the hotel has a Thomas cook - the hotel no longer provides foreign exchange. We did not try the spa but I'm sure it would have been sybaritic. Indian food was excellent but western food indifferent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, New Zealand

Comfortable and quite place to stay

Posted May 6, 2017
The luxury Villa that we stayed was really nice and comfortable. The dining was quite expensive compared to the other options that was available close by but the breakfast buffet provided was excellent. The staffs in the reception and welcome desk could have been little more welcoming and smiling to give us a good start for the stay! Few things to improve in that way (you are allowed to expect this especially when you are checking in a star rated hotel). The service people were responsive and quick to sort the issues out for us.
4 out of 5
by Ashok Kumar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

wonderful clean friendly resort

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Felt very safe and it was quiet The staff were very friendly
Location: The location was a great central meeting point for us with ease of organising transport and pick up at any time
Wonderful stay here with very friendly staff and clean facilities All the staff were very helpful , the food in the Resturant great. The rooms spacious and clean The food was great and the chef very accomodating to our needs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, il usa

Western shut-in, nicke and dimed over dumb things

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Don't come here if you're under the age of 60. It's like a farm for Westerners who want to "explore" India but are too frightened to really go for it. Also, its not close to a 5 star hotel. An average 3 for Western-expectes cleanliness and 1-2 for experience, would say. Mostly clean, and yes they have AC and western bathrooms if that's important, but its all the little things they mess up on. Wifi was barely usable. Do not expect it to work. Will say the laundry service was a lifesaver after travelling a week through Southern India, but we paid a lot for it. The staff is mostly nice but they are under constraints of management rules you can see. Everything is difficult, from adding mini bar to your bill (you have to pay cash apparantely), to actually paying for it (we gave 500 rupees for 100 charge, and the guy took it and never gave us change until we demanded it because we knew thats a scam in India. It could have been an honest mistake, but who knows after all the problems we had here). The food, of which we just had breakfast, was fine but nothing to write home about. Somehow they managed to serve crappy coffee too. Honestly, we were embarassed to stay at such a Western shut-in hotel. This was the worst stay we've had so far and we've stayed at a variety of hotels and homestays in the week we've been in India so far. Lesson learned - we should have done more research on this one.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Excellence

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
This place surpassed all expectations. Set in a beautifully landscaped garden, this massive area is an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Madurai. The rooms are excellent, wifi is fast, the pool is amazing, food is wonderful, cocktails are unique and incredible and the staff are some of the nicest you will encounter in all of India. Stop searching for a place to stay, spend a little cash and treat yourself to Heritage Madurai. You will be glad you did
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice resort amidst greenery

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The pool in my room and the greenery !
Cons: Bathroom water stays .... the drainage system needs to be fixed Restaurant needs to be improved
Location: About 5-6 km from Meenakshi temple. Surroundings -ok
We stayed in this resort for a day and have used 2 types of rooms. The usual room is a nice clean compact room with a small bath attached. The other room is the pool room. This is a huge room with a front living room, a bath room which opens up to a large bathroom with a nice swimming pool. This room comes with good amenities and the pool stands out. The problems we faced were : 1) the washroom was not draining the water quickly and the water would stagnate for at least half an hour. 2) the pool side of the room had mosquitos [im sure the managers cant do much about this !] 3) The restaurant is not impressive, I would advise people to go out and have some really good south indian food for 1/6th of the cost. 4) The floors need to be cleaned better. Overall good experience with nice staff but the restaurant is a rip off. I am a South Indian from Oz, so I know good food at a reasonable cost...i wouldn't advice this restaurant.In a restaurant in Madurai in noon, they don't have a THALI/MEAL platter, they want us to order the stuff seperately each at a dollar like cost ! Just not acceptable. This is ok for Caucasians who may not be fully aware of south indian food. For indians this is a Rip-Off.
1 out of 5
by Mahadeva

Mosquito Swamp

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
This is a Mosquito Swamp. Period. We stayed all over Tamilnadu on this trip and by far this is the worst stay. Food took 45 mins to arrive while being bitten by mosquito's. Staff were apologitic but this hotel failed in satisfying the basic requirement of a traveller; keep us safe and send us home healthily. Bitten all over.. Even our local car driver stayed the second night at his friend's house instead of staying here. That tells the story. Keep away please ..
4 out of 5
by V

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
We had a good stay except for the new year cracker noise.
4 out of 5
by Kay

Good hotel, peaceful in a busy city

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Room was a good size but a little disappointing in that it was a white box with no decoration e.g paintings or flowers. It did have a great bathroom and lovely quite gardens.