Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Very beautiful setting

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Beautiful setting amongst tropical plants and trees, small temples and smiling staff. The room was spacious and traditional with a comfortable king size bed and luxurious bathroom. There was a large porch area in front of the room surrounded by trees and peacocks grazing on the lawns. Also enjoyed time in a large (although not very deep) swimming pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel très moyen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
staff in resturant were amazing, room service was a bit poor, spa treatments were beyond amazing, buildings in need of some tlc in places
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Could be nicer

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: Staff and service was good.
Cons: The upkeep of the building can be improved and modernized.
Location: Visiting Meenakshi temple in Madurai is the main attraction.
The hotel lobby was in the open and in the evening mosquitoes were biting. The hotel is an old structure scattered over several acres. The rooms are large with mostly un-needed space. The plumbing and baths are adequate but not modern. Few mosquitoes may disturb overnight sleep. The staff was helpful and responded well upon request. Travel desk was helpful in arranging a taxi cheaper than their own. Cafeteria and food was good but space was not fancy and was away from the room. Overall the place is not bad for those who care for old in the name of heritage. Comparatively heritage hotel in Udaipur was much nicer and elegant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ruhiges Hotel in lauter Stadt

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Wunderschöne Bungalows mit 2 Zimmern und offenem Bad
5 out of 5
by Trevor from British Columbia, Canada

A high level of comfort and hospitality.

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
We were upgraded to a very comfortable villa with a plunge pool and we really appreciated the peaceful location away from the noise and crowded streets of Madurai. The food in the restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The travel desk arranged a car and driver for our onward travel to Kochi. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
by Marco from CH

Oase der Ruhe in dieser lebendigen Stadt

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
sehr freundliches, hilfsbereites und gut ausgebildetes Personal, grosszügige luxury villas mit gutem Preis/Leistungsverhältnis, schönes Pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff are all very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Even though they do try, efficiency in the restaurant .
There are some wonderful sights, eg temples and other interesting places to see nearby.
5 out of 5
by Meena from TORONTO and KALLAL

Luxurious stay in heart of Madurai

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay, Relaxed and well taken care. Olden concept of building designs but a luxurious stay with modern amenities.
5 out of 5
by Sivasubramanian from Tuticorin

Awesome place

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
This time it was my second visit to Heritage Madurai, I love this hotel, very pleasant location with private pool, good room service, very helpful and lovely staffs.