Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by MARCUS from Melbourne

Pleasant stay, great location near train station

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Had a pleasant stay at Royal Court Madurai. I had a comfortable room with a good bed, bathroom, air-con and wi-fi. Staff were happy to check me in early, and to arrange late checkout at a reasonable price. Laundry service was prompt and good. The location is excellent if arriving by train - it's just across the road from the Madurai central train station, and about 15 minutes walk from the Meenakshi Amman temple. Only slight disappointment was the restaurant - a fairly hit and miss buffet with only a limited range of drinks and no alcohol. But there are plenty of other places to eat nearby. I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thank you for staying with us and also your rating of our Brand (Product + Staff + Service). Look forward to greeting you. Regards Reservation Team
5 out of 5
by SURENDRAN from Chennai

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very near to Railway station and Sri Meenakshi amman temple. Courteous service. Breakfast is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thank you for staying with us and also your rating of our Brand (Product + Staff + Service). Look forward to greeting you. Regards Reservation Team
4 out of 5
by Sathish from Singapore

Don't give this hotel a miss.

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant hotel at a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir Thank you for staying with us and also your rating of our Brand (Product + Staff + Service). Look forward to greeting you. Regards Reservation Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Qgood location, very goog food but no nice feel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location, food
Cons: Service,!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Not far from the temples
The rooms are well appointed but without any soul or nice feel . Ours had a strange smell? Furniture are just put there, no effort to make it nice. Staff not friendly and totally unefficient. But very goog feed and good location
4 out of 5
by Scutz from Zurich

ok value for money

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
apart from the fact that the hotel starts to become a little old infrastructure wise, nothing to complain. you can expect ok value for money.
3 out of 5
by N Theagrajan

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels
It is ok and average hotel
4 out of 5
by Keith from Singapore

An acceptable stay

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Royal Court is quite a well-known hotel to the local people. Even my Madurai friends recommended it. The stay was okay. The room was clean and acceptable, the A/C was working great, the water pressure was strong, nothing to complain about. However the bedding was too thin and the towels were very rough, but this is because the water in Madurai is very hard (it makes even the skin extremely dry). The internet service was not good - extremely slow and always down. Please note that Madurai has numerous electrical power failures daily, and this may affect the internet performance.
2 out of 5
by Gary

Dirty and noisy place

Posted May 4, 2012 on Hotels
1. Complementary breakfast is always cold and when you order something from menu it takes about an hour to get your order. 2. Internet was free but it was really slow and kept loosing connection, so I wasn't able to do my work through internet. 3. With completely closed windows I was able to hear everything that was going on the street, and so as hotel located close to railway station it was noisy all night long, so you should forget about nice rest. 4. Towels in bathroom and bed linen looked grey instead of white. 5. Bathroom was really dirty so as dishes on coffee table. I regularly come to Madurai and usually stay in Fortune Pandian and I can say that with the same rate Pandian is several times better than Royal Court. I will never stay in Royal Court again.
2 out of 5
by Maryna

bad choice for foreigners

Posted Apr 30, 2012 on Hotels
If you are a foreigner (from the USA or Europe) it will be a bad choice for you to stay in Royal Court. We made this mistake and I’m writing that review because I don’t want anyone else to make the same mistake. Towels and bed linen look grey instead of white, shower curtain is all stained, so as bath itself and dishes at coffee table. With completely closed windows you can hear everything that is going on outside, and as hotel is located close to railway station it is really noisy during night, so you should forget about nice rest. Food for complimentary breakfast is all cold. There is system to heat it, but it doesn’t work properly. When you order something from regular menu it takes ages to get your order. But to be honest, if you were patient enough to wait for about an hour to get your order, food will be delicious. For sure, staff in restaurant (all of them – cooks, waiters) does better job here than housekeeping. Anyway,for foreigners that come to Madurai I can recommend Fortune Pandian to stay. Usually we stay in Pandian, but this coming my husband wanted to try “different place”, now he realizes himself that decision to stay in Royal Court was really a big mistake. Even Fortune isn’t the same level as we are used to see in our countries, but it is the best place to stay in Madurai. If you didn’t like staying in Pandian, it means that you had no chance to compare it with other Madurai hotels. As soon as you compare, you will agree with me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Awesome Place to stay in Madurai

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
Completely satisfied with the stay. Would definitely come back.