Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bruno

small changes to achieve 5star review

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
nice staff, good people, everyone very welcoming, some younger staff needs more training. restaurant offers nice food but is not that great value. need to fix the plumbing issue that made the flats smell so badly. also a nicer TV would be good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Pleasant rural location and great staff

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Did not get to try out spa, sauna, pool which all looked good.
Superb staff were great help with travel emergency. Wedding party enjoyed new & old style accommodation. Good restaurant with reasonable pricing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel but chaotic check and service

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for a wedding at another venue nearby. The service was disorganised and chaotic and they struggled to cope with the guest changeover. We asked for an early check in as we have a baby and they promised to do their best. They said our room would be ready by 1.30pm. They then gave our room accidentally to another party with the same surname. Waited another 40 mins. Due to a private party, their only restaurant was closed and they weren't able to provide any food or refreshments. It was a hot day and this added to our frustration. We were finally allocated our room and started to rush to get ready. The shower was faulty and only produced boiling hot water. I called reception and waited. Then decided to have a go at forcing the thermostatic valve on the shower. I managed to force it round and finally the temperature of the water reduced enough to have a shower safely. The plug in the sink was also defective and prevented us from bathing our baby. Standard rooms do not have air conditioning nor ceiling fans. To me, this is unacceptable in a hot country like Portugal. I asked for a portable fan and they were vague about it. They then appeared to tell us there was a problem with the drains and we had to move. We had to repack and move our bags ourselves to the second room. The lift was faulty so I had to carry our pram and luggage up a steep flight of steps. This was one of their new air conditioned rooms which was a welcome relief from the sweltering heat.
5 out of 5
by Terry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
We expected a calm and restful night. Instead we had to travel about 9 Km to the next town to find a place to eat since the restaurant was not serving any dinner. Also, breakfast buffet was very very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Charming well situated Rural Turism

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Fantastic staff, great spa facilities, pretty rooms with confortable beds. Really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub before dinner at the restaurant.
Cons: We opted out of the 9€ per person breakfast as we thought it a bit pricey for a continental breakfast. The cafe in nearby Gradil was fine.
Location: Easy access to Tapada (king's hunting grounds now a natural reserve), Mafra (huge monestary) and Ericeira (village and beaches)
We had a great time here, lovely helpful staff and fantastic value for money with a out of season deal which included the use of a newly built spa. The XVII century converted farm buildings have kept their charm but have been modernised to provide a comfortable stay. There's a guest lounge (with TV, Games and where breakfast is served) in the old olive pressing room and the old wine making room has be turned into a conference/wedding venue where you can still see the huge stone tanks. There's enough outdoor space for a walk, moning jog or just to enjoy the gorgeous portuguese sunshine. As it was winter we didn’t use the outdoor pool but the area looked really nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not where I Thought

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels
I learned a painful lesson about using Hotels.com for Portugal. Villages and Regions can have the same name. So, when I arranged for this place, I thought I was staying in the town of Mafra, while I was actually 13 km away. The hotel itself was pretty nice, though I am unsure if it was air conditioned, not an issue since Portugal was unseasonably cool. The breakfast was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Márcia and Adam from Portuguese and British

Honeymoon Night and no surprises :(

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Area is really good
Cons: NO personal touch
Location: great
Hotel was good, however we informed the hotel (3 days in advance) that was our honeymoon night, and we did not receive any special treatment (flowers, champagne, our a small chocolate with a card). Disappointing ....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Mooie Quinta in rustige omgeving.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Vanuit de rustige omgeving kan je gemakkelijk met de auto de vele stranden, dorpjes en Lissabon bereiken.Personeel is erg aardig en behulpzaam. Hef hotel is een prachtig verbouwde Quinta met een nieuw gedeelte. Dat er een nieuw gedeelte was werd ons pas duidelijk bij aankomst. Wij kozen juist dit hotel vanwege het oude gedeelte maar kregen helaas een kamer in het nieuwe. Uitzicht op de achterkant van het gebouw was vreselijk, dus op het balkon zitten was geen optie.Kamer klein maar goed. De kamer werd elke dag goed schoon gemaakt. . Elke dag schone handdoeken. Er is een spa met turksbad aanwezig in bet complex.Massages etc zijn mogelijk. Het restaurant is een prettige ruimte waar een goed buffet ontbijt wordt geserveerd. Wel een beetje klein voor het aantal gasten zodat je af en toe moest wachten voor een beschikbare tafel. Dat zelfde gold ook voor een eventueel diner. Er was weinig afwisseling in het menu. Kwaliteit van het eten was prima. Het personeel was bijzonder aardig.