Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Coenie

Not impressed visitor

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel and staff were not too bad. Unfortunately other visitors made so much noise and behaved so bad that we will never visit the hotel again or recommend it to friends. This group of noisy visitors came to the breakfast table still drinking bear. I don't understand how the staff allowed them into the breakfast hall with half empty bear bottles.They behaved so badly and were so noisy that we couldn't enjoy our own breakfast and hastily finished our breakfast and left the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good mountain view

Posted May 10, 2017
Good tonescape from bussy life, decent food with limited options. Good conference facilities
3 out of 5
by Jenny

Overrall not too impressed

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was good, I was just not happy that the people at reception did not have the right facts. I had arrange the getaway for my in-laws, which was bed and breakfast and had paid in advance for them to have the buffet dinner every night they stayed. I had told this to my in-laws that dinner was arranged and paid in advance. When they got there they had asked reception about the dinner and they were told, sorry it was only bed and breakfast. My in-laws decided to save costs and went the whole stay at the accommodation without dinner. I knowing that my in-laws would not pay for the additional costs for dinner, that was why I arranged with the hotel and paid in advance for the dinner. This really soured my view of Mount Grace, as they should have known this or noted it. So I would say in overall it was a NOT a good experience thinking that my in-laws did not have dinner the whole 3 nights. Not impressed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Great getaway for the weekend, close to Jhb

Posted May 1, 2017
Excellent service, staff all really keen to ensure we had a good stay, room very comfortable, beautiful setting, very good food
3 out of 5
by Shirley

Not recommended.

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Average. Room not great. no 150. no view and décor not well maintained. Curtains too long and skew lamp shades. Bath and basin drainage very slow. Service at bar poor. No waiter service. Same at buffet dinner and breakfast. Food not up to 5 star standard. Poor selection.
4 out of 5
by John

A very worthwile week-end; will return, no doubt

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The week-end was very enjoyable. I was very impressed by the attention given to us by phone before we arrived so that any personal issues could be sorted out prior to our arrival. The direction we got were also extremely good. The actual stay was of the highest order - the staff were extremely friendly, and genuine, and the week-end ticked by with a relaxing smoothness. If a criticism could be raised it would be at the check-in and check-out process. This seemed to take an unnecessarily long time - there was no disorder or, it just did not seem to work like the rest of the hotel, however, in fairness, it was busy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Badly run hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very badly run with no idea of guest communications. Restuarants were all closed on one evening & guests were expected to eat in their rooms. Too many staff standing around talking to each other & not attending to guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mount Grace - average presidential experience

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely not the quality advertised. The food , at the rambling vine restaurant, was terrible. You describe it as a fine dining restaurant and it was nowhere near that. The food was bad, from over cooked lamb to poor attempt at combinations to not being served promptly at all (to the point of not being given a course, until we asked 3 times for it). There was no choice in the set menu, usually a restaurant would at least give 2 choices of starters/main/dessert. The hostess was rude and unfriendly. The wait staff appeared overwhelmed and forgetful. The ambience and decor of the restaurant was sullen. It felt more like a funeral parlour than a restaurant. We did not enjoy our experience at this restaurant and will not return. Upon entrance in to the hotel/resection we were not greeted. We were there to check in. Instead the man at the desk rudely spoke to us, lingered, and told us we would be helped soon by someone else when another couple entered to check in. They were then attended to before us. When making recommendations to friends/colleagues I will surely voice he above opinions. The breakfast buffet was good. Staff here too need training in politeness and prompt service. The accommodation was great and the spa was impressive. The staff at the spa were helpful and dignified. The presidential villa in which we had stayed was lovely, well maintained, quiet and secluded. I would like to come back and enjoy that, however am put off by the service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Relaxation

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Lovely hotel w rooms in 'villas' set in acres of grounds. Beautiful location and views. Staff were friendly, professional and went out of their way to be helpful. Exceptional breakfast buffet and excellent spa facilities with outside pool and flotation pool set among the trees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Room/restaurant

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting, very friendly staff everywhere.
Cons: Reception staff must be more pro-active when making accommodation bookings & ask guests to book early at the one a la carte restuarant available to av
Location: We were only there for one night
We had a wonderful stay there. In our room we had a big very wet sport on the carpet between the bedroom & passage area. We were very disappointed that the a la carte restaurant was all booked out & that nobody mentioned this to us at reception. At reception they said that they would do a booking for us at the restaurant & only when I phoned them later to find out at what time our booking was for, they told me that they could not do a booking for us. We then ate at the buffet restaurant where we had to call a waiter to our table every time we wanted somebody to serve us. We got our wine the third time we asked about it, about three qaurters of an hour after we sat down.