Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Clean and friendly.
Location: Close to shops and railway station.
The hotel is of a very high quality and would not hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers. My stay was very short but would gladly return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Sophia Schmidt, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel and that you were delighted with the location. We are pleased to hear that you would gladly return for a further stay. Yours sincerely The Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, close to train station and city center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. Is is great that you were delighted with the location. Yours sincerely The Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Maritim Hotel Magdeburg, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch und das positive Bewertung unseres Hauses. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen und verbleiben bis dahin mit freundlichen Grüßen, Direktion des Maritim Hotels Magdeburg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, 2 min walk to train station

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Location, room availability at short notice
Cons: In hotel restaurant menu could be improved, as could the room service/bar snack menu
Location: Elbe, old town, museums all near by
Good, clean and comfortable hotel. Staff very efficient and helpful. Bar staff at piano bar very friendly and always up for a chat (which matters to a business traveller). Location is very convenient, being very close to the main train station and the old town on the banks of the Elbe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by Maritim Hotel Magdeburg, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It is great that you were delighted with the location and the amenities . We are glad to know that our staff has made a good impression. Thank you for the remark regarding to the menu. Yours sincerely The Management
5 out of 5
by Manuela from USA

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Biking The Elbe bike route we stayed at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights. We enjoyed the pool, sauna and dinner ! Defintely a very good place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Close to the city centre, good for shopping.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy
Cons: The interior reminded me of a stay in London, at the Wandsworth Hotel. Also the survey is a tad confusing.
Location: Lots of good quality restaurants nearby, and a very short walk from the main railway station.
Very convenient for Magdeburg City Centre, relaxing hotel with good facilities, staff very efficient and helpful. Quiet location, good restaurant and bar. I recommend this hotel for a business stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

High quality hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Centrality, good breakfast and nice choices for dinner
Cons: A certain rigidity from staff but I think that's just the German way! Generally helpful, despite some with very limited English.
Location: Central to lots - just ask.
A short walk with suitcase from railway station, this is a large hotel with nice features close to restaurants and tourist attractions.
3 out of 5
by Mancho

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by WDN from Reno, NV

One Night in Magdeburg

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels
While visiting my German relatives in Berlin, I took an overnight trip to Magdeburg and stayed at the Maritim Hotel in the city. Maritim is a reputable hotel chain in Germany and this location fit the mold. The staff was friendly, the hotel clean, and the location was within walking distance of the main train station and some of the sights worth seeing. I suspect the hotel was built during the time of communist East Germany given that the rooms are positioned as if they were store fronts in a mall (i.e., all doors facing the same direction , which is an unusual structure. Also, the fact that the televisions were older than normal (i.e., no plasma) was also an indication of its roots. The only complaint I had was that instead of a king size bed, I had a room in which two full sized beds were pushed together, causing minor discomfort at times. However, the location, staff, and terrific gym/sauna/small pool made up any such deficiency.