Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, serene retreat

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful authentic Javanese resort set high in the mountains in a working coffee plantation. All rooms are different so see a few and pick the one that suits you best. Swimming pool is stunning and spa excellent with very reasonable rates
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manila

Peaceful, beautiful. Well worth it.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Mesa Stila is the perfect place to relax or decompress. Attentive staff, but not overly so. Lovely food. Beautiful spa. Comfortable beds. Clean air. Exactly what I needed. Just wish it was closer to home
4 out of 5
by Kirsty from Edinburgh

Volcanic view

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely location with very good activities and facilities such as an infinity pool, tennis court, and batik learning (although for a fitness resort the gym equipment is very poor). Staff were very nice, polite and always willing to help. Communal areas were very nice, both traditional and Dutch colonial style. Villas are set out over a small hill with some having a fantastic view of the 'local' volcanoes. The villa style was a touch too rustic for my liking (painted stone and brick walls on the inside) but I appreciate others will like this style. Overall, a very nice resort.
5 out of 5
by Rachael from Sydney

Little slice of paradise

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
This what exceeded my expectations and I had high expectations! Beautiful setting, gorgeous property and very friendly. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel however food isnt of top quality.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Spa --- just fabulous!
Cons: A good chef!
Location: Pretty far away--- no restaurants within walking distance except at the hotel.
Our stay was good. Spa is fantastic however food isn't up to a good standard. The western food isnt great and the Indonesian food isn't authentic. Had new years eve meal there and the food was lacking in every way. Because it was compulsory when booking, we did it and felt rather cheated of a good meal Otherwise, the hotel and people are lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Serene,quiet & refreshing environment

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Cons: Tranquil,quiet, fresh air very refreshing environment hidden amongst the woods.
Location: Visit Borobudur and a must to watch the sunrise there!
Excellent locations, quiet, exclusive and refreshing environment for taking a break away from city life.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Wonderful memorable stay....

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Spectacular scenic view right out of our room. More importantly, there is no mosquitoes and creepy insects flying or crawling around.
Cons: Swimming pool design not ideal. I got cut by the bricks on the floor and it is too swallow for dipping too.
Location: A little far from most attractions. We took almost an hour to go Borobudur Temple. This is based on travelling at non peak hours and no jam.
Initially, we were sceptical about this place due to the long drive from the airport and the run down surroundings. However, upon reaching this place, we were totally enchanted by the well kept hotel. It is immaculately clean, not even a frog or insect. The staff is very polite and knowledgeable. Weather was cool and food selection was impressive. Rooms are clean and with beautiful layout. We stayed in the hotel throughout the three days we were there without going out. The facilities inside the hotel are so good that you do not feel like going anywhere else; it feels like home to us. Every staff is so friendly, taking care of our needs and requests. This hotel looks into every single detail; right up to our breakfast, whether to pack for us to eat or coming back to hotel to have our breakfast. We are definitely going back next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Javahk from Hong kong

jogja borobodur

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels
Nice and quietly remote location. Due to high.prices and out of season, there was no other guests in the.resort. Food is not fresh for the same reason probably and a taste of wine was refused because turned into vinegar...they offer to open a.new.bottle, but no thanks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique experience gone wrong

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Food and spa
Cons: Lots - room quality, service, staff training, management attention to guests
Mesastila is a newly acquired property formerly known as Losari Hotel (which is how most taxi drivers still know it as). We stayed there for 3 nights over the Chinese New Year weekend. With boutique hotels, its always a bit tricky on the overall experience. This one fell short by a huge margin. The hotel location is roughly 2.5hrs from Yogyakarta , 1.5hrs from Borobudur , 2.5hrs from Mt. Merapi, 2.5 hrs from Pramabanan temple. In short you would need to carve out traveling time just to get to these places. Would strongly recommend using outside taxi services which offer the same or arguably better itinerary for a significantly lower price. Food and Spa were really what kept us from cutting our trip short here. Hotel has a rustic theme, but it's bordering worn out and tired look. Rooms don't have a dinning menu, we were told the kitchen will explain the menu when you call, which sounded absurd. no body lotion or mosquito repellents either. We requested for a dinner reservation at one of the (nicer) hotels near Borobudur , which the hotel completely forgot to make. After a frustrating round trip, we received no apology from the manager, who didn't show up in-spite of us requesting to speak with him. Instead,we were offered a refund for the taxi fare to the hotel. Clearly, this place lacks management focus on service and attention to detail. Rates charged here don't justify the overall experience.