Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Dan

Not good

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Not a good hotel. right on the front of the beach, yes, but looking back, i would take a hotel further up the mountains as you need to drive in any case unless you want to spend your whole vacation on the same beach. room is very small, poorly designed, we did not have a TV, or a safebox, or enough power plugs, and other than being clean and the swimming pool, i would not recommend.
3 out of 5
by nikolaos from Crete

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location, comfortable and big bed, clean room, very good wifi. Very small room(not much space available), there was nothing in the fridge(not even water), poor breakfast(coffee was provided with extra charge).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in front of the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Room cleanliness, location, polite owner and staff
Cons: The hotel could offer sunbeds and umbrella to the guests, or give them for free if you order a coffee
Location: The perfect place to combine beautiful sea and relaxation for family vacation
A wonderful hotel located in front of the beautiful beach of Agios Ioannis. The rooms are very clean and in a good condition. The breakfast has almost everything you would expect. The star rating could be higher.
3 out of 5
by Emil from San Francisco

Sofokles hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
We booked 9 nights (B&B),double room in July 2015.We got a room at first floor, overlooking the back side,we booked a cheaper room,so we expect it.It proved to be a good choice since it was always cool.The hotel is in good shape, the room wasn`t big, but the bed was the BEST bed we have slept in a Greek hotel.It was big, comfy,double pillows,we slept like babies.The small refrigerator had broken ice compartment.The bathroom was big,towels were changed every day,but the bedlinens not for the whole time.The place that to dry wet swimsuits/towels were placed out of the window, on its right, very close to the roof of the above floor.It was hard to reach and impossible to dry anything longer that 30cm.The breakfast was the same: melon and kiwi,muesli and cereals,three types of jams and one chocolate cream,homemade vanilla cream pie a cheap cake from the supermarket;boiled eggs,sliced ham and cheese,feta,olives,tomato,cucumber,bread,Greek yogurt and honey.Few days we could choose from butter or Becel.I HATE margarine,so I really missed the butter.The worst part of it was the coffee,it was the worst coffee ever. It had tea (green or English breakfast) and milk/soy milk.The bread was far from fresh.The thing that annoyed us most was the fact that we must pay EXTRA for hotel`s beach sunbeds and umbrellas.Also,the coffee(frape) they serve on the beach is as bad as the breakfast one.So,we didn`t use it any more.Other than this,which is pretty much everything, our stay was ok.
3 out of 5
by Emil from San Francisco

Best beds, worst coffee etc...

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
We booked 9 nights (B&B), double room in July 2015.We got a room at first floor, overlooking the back side, we booked a cheaper room, so we expect it.It proved to be a good choice since it was always cool.The hotel is in good shape, the room wasn`t big, but the bed was the BEST we have slept in a Greek hotel.It was big,comfy,double pillows,we slept like babies.The small refrigerator had broken ice compartment.The bathroom was big,towels were changed every day,but the bedlinens not for the whole time.The place that to dry wet swimsuits/towels were placed right from the window, very close to the roof of the above floor.It was hard to reach and impossible to dry anything longer that 30cm.The breakfast was the same: melon and kiwi, muesli and cereals, three types of jams and one chocolate cream, homemade vanilla cream pie, cheap cake from the supermarket;boiled eggs,sliced ham and cheese,feta,olives, tomato,cucumber,bread,Greek yogurt and honey.Few days we could choose from butter or Becel.I HATE margarine, so I really missed the butter.The worst part of it was the coffee, it was the worst coffee ever.It had tea (green or English breakfast) and milk or soy milk.The bread was far from fresh.The thing that annoyed us most was the fact that we must pay EXTRA for hotel`s beach sunbeds and umbrellas.Also, the coffee(frape) that they serve on the beach is as bad as the breakfast one.So, we didn`t use it any more.Other than this, which is pretty much everything, our stay was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sofokles Hotel - Not Bad, but Not Great

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is pretty old, as are the rest of the hotels/apartments at Agios Ioannis. The rooms are small and so are the bathrooms. The showers are extremely tight. The rooms are air conditioned, which is a plus I guess. The rooms are cleaned daily, and new sheets and towels are provided, The breakfast is what you would expect from a small hotel, hard boiled eggs, bread, some vegetables and cheese, coffee, juice and water. The only great thing is that the beach is right in front of you. It is a rock/stone/pebble beach, but the water is very nice to swim in. There are some nice restaurants/taverns to eat/drink at along the strip, but don't expect to party all night....not the place. It is quite the drive to get to Agios Ioannis, but it is a very beautiful one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
Would have welcomed some variety in the breakfast offering.
5 out of 5
by Liz from Miami

Agios Ioannis 2014

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel for the price in front of the beach, great service , free breakfast, clean rooms in the middle of the town, surrounded by rest , cafes and mini markets.Nice beach!!!Far from Volos,dangerous road, beware!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Married couple from H

Lovely hotel overlooking the beach

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were fresh, plentiful and lots of choices were available. Cakes and drinks were all one could hope for. Location was wonderful for swimming and walking. Would love to go back.
5 out of 5
by Guhan

Friendly; Sea front view; Clean; Yummy breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels
Apart from the pluses listed, my only complaint is that there are not enough road signs around this place (we reached there late at night, and without GPS, we would never have reached - the roads are deserted after late evenings). Be well prepared! But this is surely a small price to pay to stay at this wonderful hotel!