Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

nice modern hotel with amazing views

Posted Oct 8, 2017
loved our stay here when we visited magnetic island for two nights. The room was beautiful with stunning views of the marina nelly bay and townsville, staff were very helpful especially the pretty young lady although i don't remember your name, your a legend! will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Weather fantastic. Friendly locals. Amazing scenery. Great restaurants & cafe's . Wide variety of transport on island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dromana, Vic, Australi

Best Apartment we have ever stayed in

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Quality. View. We couldn't wait to get back to it after a wonderful time on Magnetic Island.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Look up Magnetic Island.
As above. Staff and service couldn't be better. Apartment magnificent. Would recommend the whole experience to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Breathtaking views

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Lastminute
Great location, views, facility and upgraded which was fantastic
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unclean room and terrible service.

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Wotif
My first room I was shown to on arrival was a 2 bedroom suit that was half closed off, in an unclean and in a lot of cases broken manner. I was shown to a second room with no apologies which was in a very similar, unclean state. I had originally booked a 1 bedroom studio apartment but was told on arrival that the manager (Rita) had decided to give my room to someone else. I will definitely not being staying at the Grand Mecure Magnetic Island again and will most likely not stay at another Grand Mecure either. Wotif was extremely helpful though and made sure that I recicieved a full refund.
4 out of 5
by Karen

Lovely ocean views

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the apartment, particularly the ocean view. It is somewhat unusual not to have a door to the bathroom, so that it is possible to watch someone having a shower whilst sitting on the balcony. Would also suggest that a non slip mat in the bath would be useful/safer as I slipped getting out of the deep bath resulting in a nasty bruise on my leg. That aside though, would definitely stay here again. Also note that there is no DVD player or Wifi as advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wivenhoe

Awesome location close to shops & the ferry

Posted Aug 7, 2017
This was the first holiday we have had since our kids were born so it was supper exciting,we had a great time driving around to all the different bays on the island & also a beautiful sunset cruise on the Pilgrim Yacht,we will be back in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Wotif
Overall great service and room would recommend to anyone and will definetely return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO HELP WITH GETTING STUCK IN THE LIFT.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Bed and sheets were great.
Cons: Cleanliness, and staff not getting defensive if someone lets them know of a problem would be a start.
We had to wait 15mins to be allowed up to our rooms, even though it was 1/2hr after check in. 6 of us then got into the lift, only to find it would not go anywhere. we tried all buttons, then rang for help, only to be told to hold certain buttons down for 10 sec and then they hung up on us. After we tried all the buttons again, we rang a second time, to be told the same thing. So we tried the buttons again. Then she asked us where we were, and had no idea where Magnetic Island was. By this stage one of the men managed to get his fingers into the door and open it. The lift was about 10cm below floor level. We all escaped, and I went to inform the reception what had happened so they could fix the lift. A man who appeared to be staff followed us back, being extremely defensive about the problem. Very disappointing. The cleanliness was lacking as well, chairs outside were dirty and stained, and the flannel was not a clean white. 1 small soap that was insufficient and a lounge chair that was extremely uncomfortable. I will not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Airlie Beach

Very disappointing

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great view, great position.
Cons: Management
Location: Boating, fishing
A beautiful view and great position. Staff were very inefficient and not at all helpful. We didn't have enough towels for everyone and had to share towels the first night. The only glasses were wine and spirit glasses, no glasses for drinking water! The aircon didn't work in the lounge room and main bedroom. When we told reception a chap came up and turned it on and left. The motor was running but nothing was coming out of the vents. When we mentioned to him again the next day he just said he wouldn't be able to get a airconditioning mechanic on the weekend anyway. When we went to reception to ask for more towels, glasses etc the manger proceeded to tell us about all her problems with staff. We were there for a break after going through a cyclone and the clean up after the cyclone so her problems didn't interest me at all. We all loved the island but wouldn't recommend the accommodation to anyone.