Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south australia

On the marina

Posted Aug 5, 2017
A stones throw from the ferry terminal. Supermarket next door. Walking distance to restaurants. Beautiful views of beaches or the marina. Dinner or breakfast on restaurant deck amazing. Great food and excellent service. Modern clean resort,well laid out. A very good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel was just great, like in a tropical paradise

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No
Location: Location was great did a bus tour to horseshoe bay, walked to Arcadia and Geoffrey bay the views are spectacular
Very relaxing, we got upgraded and was very spacious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Easily Accessible from the Ferry Terminal

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Service staff were down to earth and friendly, and we were really close to the terminal and bus stop while maintaining an awesome view of Nelly Bay.
Cons: There were some marks on the carpet and in the shower which looked like stains. We weren't at all fussed but it could definitely make an improvement.
Location: Close to the terminal and bus stop to get around. The boardwalk is right outside the hotel which goes around the Marina. Lots of cafes nearby.
We arrived at the hotel at about 7:30pm for check in. Check in was easy and credit card guarantee is required. The service staff were very helpful and friendly. We went straight to the Boardwalk Restaurant for dinner, which was absolutely amazing. All staff their were very well presented and the food was incredible. Our room was a superior studio booked on an eco-rate which normally is not serviced, however we were pleasantly surprised to see that our room was serviced when we returned to our room after a day out on Saturday. There was a kitchenette with mini-bar, two capsules of coffee for free with the pod machine, and if you are a member of Mantra + (which we now are) you receive two welcome drinks on arrival and a 12pm check-out. The buffet breakfast included in our rate was absolutely amazing, so much food to choose from but there were no lactose free milk options for my husband which was a bit of a let down. So very happy we chose to stay here on our first trip to Magnetic Island. It is so easily accessible from the ferry, and close to the Nelly Bay bus stop to help you get around the Island. We had 2GB of free wifi as well as a large number of free new release movies available on the TV as well! There are two beautiful swimming pools at the hotel which are
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buderim

Fabulous Resort

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We were upgraded to a three bedroom unit overlooking the marina. The unit was fantastic. Our stay included breakfast which was fantastic and the food at the restaurant at night was really good. Customer service across the entire resort was A1. the location of the resort was fantastic, right where the ferry comes in, buses leave from out the front and there is an IGA to be able to buy supplies if you want to do your own meals.
3 out of 5
by Kay

No lifts!

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Blue on Blue is not suited to older people, especially those with mobility problems. Why? There are no lifts to the upper levels so you have to drag your luggage - and shopping - up the stairs. Not as if there are any bell boys to help either. The swimming pools are great; the location good, although you really need to be in Block 9 to get sea breezes; the rooms spacious and clean. But power points are very limited and poorly placed - not good if you have computers, ebooks, phones, cameras etc to charge. Also, the buffet breakfast is very mediocre - not at the standard of say, a Rydges resort. Because of the lack of lifts, I would describe the resort as an up-market backpackers lodge - suitable for younger people. There are better places to stay on Magnetic Island, although Blue on Blue is conveniently located right next to the ferry terminal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Wotif
Disappointing breakfast however the dinner menu and quality is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and facilities.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Had a great time here. Hotel is in a great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All part of a great get-a-way story fro Townsville

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Wotif
We enjoyed our stay and many of the island treasures such as the picnic bay jetty for fishing with a handline, the Horseshoe Bay Marlin Bar, markets and beach activities and also the Forts Walk. We spotted 3 koalas. Relaxing back at Peppers after a day in the sun was great and the restaurant meals were lovely for our crowd of 8. It is a convenient location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Ferry Terminal and transport.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Pool, view and breakfast room. There is a supermarket and car hire nearby.
Location: Beside ferry terminal, local transport leaves from terminal that can take you beaches and other location on island.
Stayed 4 nights and loved the pool and surrounds. They have a great restaurant with a lovely view over the Marina and towards Townsville. The resort lacks some facilities like others (tennis court or gym) but if you want to suck up the sun and enjoy the surrounds, pool and view the hills around this is the place to be. You can easily get to other parts of the Island from this location.
5 out of 5
by David

Can't go wrong with this place.

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great place to explore the island from. You are steps away from the ferry, buses and taxis. The restaurant has a great morning buffet and great dinner specials. There are two pools and one is largest I have ever seen with numerous side green spaces.