Ratings based on 1,556 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hotel was in a great location, close to a metro station and also within walking distance of some major attractions in the city. The hotel itself was lovely, great rooms and staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Just ok

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Disappointed. Reviews were good and stars showed it was a nice hotel. The restaurant is closed, which was one of the reasons we picked going here... not one mention of “sorry our restaurant is closed.. here are some other places around here”. The room was decent sized. The bathroom was smaller and the shower small. Someone who is taller or even a bit larger would be uncomfortable. found that the shower curtain (cloth curtain) was sticking to me as I washed (gross)! Also, our bathroom had a sewer smell. If we kept the door closed it was manageable. Pillows were small and asked for one extra which never shows up. Only two body towels, which would be fine if normal sized. The towels were small. The hotel is charming as it’s an older building and the area of town is nice. I would not call it a luxury hotel. Loved the bell hops- they were very nice and even chatted with us as we waited for a ride. Overall, it wasn’t an awful stay... just wouldn’t go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Just What I Needed

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Had a great stay at the Ambassador. It was exactly what was needed for my stay in Chicago. Check-in was quick and the staff were amazing! My only gripe is that as an avid tea drinker, I would have loved to have a tea/coffee maker in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Jared- Hotel Night Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at Ambassador Chicago. We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Staff are so friendly

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Traveling with a toddler can be difficult at the best of times, but everyone at the hotel was amazingly helpful and made our stay a dream. A particular note of praise to Grace at reception, going above and beyond everytime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Jared- Hotel Night Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We love hearing great feedback from our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments along to grace and the entire staff. We look forward to having you stay with again us next time your travels bring you to the windy city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hoywl in need of a facelift!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
This hotel, which certainly looks a cut above in Chicago, as a modern, white and fresh hotel, has clearly seen better days. The carpets were seriously filthy and frayed in places and the appointment of our suite was poor compared with the promotional photos. The paint was chipping off the walls in the hallway and the elevators were dirty and had graffiti scratched into the metal. Windows in the room were filthy as well, so views interupted. In its current state, it is certainly not a 4 star hotel. The restaurant was under construction so no amenities there. The location is good and the staff are friendly and helpful, but beware, THIS OLD GIRL NEEDS A BIG FACELIFT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Angel T, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you for staying at the Ambassador Chicago, we appreciate all your feedback. We are definitely making significant improvements in our property to provide top quality accommodations for our guests. We hope you give us another try in the near future. Sincerely, Angel Tenemaza Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford England

Short break

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Close to beach, close to Downtown Chicago. Bedroom was not as good as expected similar in size to premier Inn. No facilities for making hot drinks. Breakfast only available from the bar die to renovations. Not a good selection of food and $5 for a cup of tea whilst coffee is freely topped up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Travis Howard, Hotel Management
Tricia, Thank you kindly for leaving us such a nice review. Our location here in the Gold Coast is perfect for seeing all sides of the city. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Travis Howard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Easy walking distance to central Chicago

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Position and clean. Good sized room with King size bed.
Cons: Bedroom: Hook for the dressing gown. A mirror on the bedroom table Quieter air con. Carpet looked clean but some pink stains!
Location: Easy to walk to Chicago attractions and shops
Very enjoyable stay. Reception good. Walked to and from hotel over our 5 night stay. Quite area. (apart from building work which is of no fault of hotel and we were out most of the day)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Travis Howard, Hotel Management
Jo and Ne, Thank you for choosing Ambassador Chicago during your trip to this fine city. I am glad to hear your room was satisfactory, and that you enjoyed our neighborhood as mush as we do. Hope to see you again! Thanks, Travis Howard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Wonderful high end Hotel in nostalgic Gold Coast building. So nice being blocks from Lake Michigan and Michigan Ave in quiet neighborhood. I loved it and the rooms are so comfy!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Travis Howard, Hotel Management
Jay, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review. Our rooms are great to return to after a day in the city, and the short walk to such a peaceful neighborhood is even better. Hope to see you again! Thanks, Travis Howard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

September 23, 2017 Weekend trip

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Was not aware that the hotel restaurant was closed when booking. AC in room wasn't working properly (77 degrees). Called the front desk and engineering was immediately dispatched and fixed the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Jared- Hotel Night Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at ambassador Chicago. We sincerely apologize you were not made aware of the restaurant closure. We have extended the menu in the library for lunch and dinner until the restaurant is completely transitioned. I am pleased to hear our engineer was able to correct the ac issue in the room. Again we appreciate your feedback, and would like to invite you to stay with us again next time your travels bring you to the windy city. we are expecting the restaurant Booth One to be complete and open by November 1st we are very excited to share the updates with you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Beautiful location and lobby but outdated rooms

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Let me preface this by saying my overall stay was good- just one night. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only pitfall was the state of our room. The bathroom had hairs lining the tub and was much smaller than the images depicted on the site. I imagine them are renovating and have not yet reached the upper floors. If you are paying a pretty penny I would advise to stay elsewhere to get your $$ worth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Jared- Hotel Night Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyable. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.