Ratings based on 3,216 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cedar Park, TX

Family friendly hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, free breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: Carpets could use some deep cleaning and the overall room decor could be brought up to 2017 tastes.
Location: Pizzeria Uno & Due are both 1 block away. Eataly is 1 block away (and has fantastic espresso drinks and Italian ice creams)
We enjoyed staying at the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown recently for a short family vacation. The location is close to a metro line that will take you to most major sites (Museum of Art, Museum of Industry, Planetarium, Acquarium, Willis Tower, Pizzeria Uno). You can get a free decent breakfast which is great when you have a family traveling. The happy hour is a nice touch. Hasn't changed in 30 years, but it is sufficient. It would be nice to have more snack than nut mix and chips/hummus. The bed was comfortable, and with the earplugs the hotel provided, you can get a good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

nice hotel great location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: location to public transportation, shopping and food
Cons: room cleaning earlier in the day.
Location: Near everything. Easy to walk or take transportation to various places in Chicago
Overall, a very good hotel. Cleaning staff came late in the afternoon though. (around 4-4:30 pm) which was a little awkward. Breakfast was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario, Canada

In the heart of River North

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The manager's reception with snacks and complimentary beverages was a nice way to start our evenings. The complimentary full breakfast was incredible
Cons: The price of parking was too high, I've stayed in other major cities and never paid that much.
Location: We walked to Navy Pier, took the Architectural Society boat tour, walked to Millennial Park to see "the bean", went to the House of Blues
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! From the happy hour with complimentary beverages, to the amazing breakfast, this was definitely the place to stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff were pleasant and sociable, asked about our day and even remembered what we were drinking! There were 4 in our party, and I can't say enough how pleased all of us were. The location was perfect for the sites we wanted to see and everything was walking distance. Love the city, loved the hotel, will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago state st

Restaurants, stores, nightclubs.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Had a great experience for my birthday stayed a night crashed in my room was very comfortable breakfast was great in the morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great location! close to many good restaurants. you gotta try Eataly. Also shopping n access to red line and city hop on hop off tour bus is a few blocks away. the overnight parking at embassy is outrageous $59 a night dislike otherwise will always go for embassy for its complimentary breakfast and happy hour :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
We felt very fortunate that this hotel found a room for us, since we were in downtown Chicago and had already given our car to the parking staff in the garage below the hotel. It was quite upsetting to have made an Expedia reservation weeks before, and to have received confirmation email and to have the desk staff assure us that there was no reservation for us. We did experience some noise each a.m. when the trash truck collected the hotel's waste from outside our room in the alley. Free drink in evening appreciated, but otherwise the snack part was fairly feeble. The breakfast was great though. Staff kept room looking very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Excellent room, good service, nice hotel. Excellent breakfast brunch. It's at a great location. Near shopping, restaurants, night life.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The pool and hot tub area were closed without being notified anywhere on the site. We were disappointed because that was very important in our selection decision.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Staff was great - Room was great - in the middle of downtown Chicago
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Beds in my room really need new mattresses, especially the sofa bed.