Ratings based on 1,787 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mid michigan

Just an overnight

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Took advantage of a long weekend and got out of town. Never stayed in this hotel before, usually go for quaint or historic in Chicago. This will be my go to hotel, couldn’t be happier. Free breakfast was actually delicious and generous. Staff always smiling and greeting everyone. Great location for shopping and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
I loved it but staff was rude ..and I wish u served bacon for breakfast as well other then that I loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Our staying with family was very pleasant! The staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities were great and clean, the location was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Excellent for multi-day stay

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Location, room size, comfort, staff, food, pool....
Cons: Bigger gym.... but the one there is sufficent and the top floor indoor pool is very nice
Location: Everything is nearby, great off Michigan Ave location
We stay at this hotel every year, once in summer and again in January. Each stay is for 3 to 4 nights. We love this hotel. This is very nicely planned space that is comfortable and appealing. Staff is always nice, smiles and fantastic. Anything I have ever asked for they have taken care of..and fast..friendly. The 40 East Grand location is one block off Michigan Ave and your located just minutes from just about everything in downtown Chicago. Eataly is across the street... great place .... I highly recommend this hotel for multi-day stays especially for families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great, and detailed review! We hope that you'll all be back to see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zeeland, MI

Close to almost everything for a family weekend.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Staff and great location. Clean rooms and nice pool.
Location: Just a couple blocks from Michigan Avenue. Close to several restaurants and shopping. We got pizza from pizzeria due which is a block away.
Great experience. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are great. We had four rooms for our family. Our children and grandchildren (15 of us). The grandkids loved the pool. We had a adjoining suite with our daughters family. Plenty of room for a pizza party at night. Showers were fantastic. Breakfast was good to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We're glad to see that the whole family enjoyed themselves and hope to see everyone back again very soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
My stay at the hotel was great until I found out that Valet Parking took all my change from a little sak it was like $20 in coins and few one dollar bills I don’t care about that, my concern is I can not trust this place anymore with my belongings and my car !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review! We're happy to see that you had a great experience with the hotel, but regret if there were any issues with the valet team. We trust you brought this to our attention, and we were able to address it for you right away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Pool was great, rooms were big and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast did not have many options, quality of food could have been better. The carpet in our room needed to be cleaned.
Had a great time, the Hotel was nice for the price. Rooms were large and beds were comfortable. The pool was nice, water was warm and lots of windows made it fun and inviting. The carpet in our room needed to be cleaned. The breakfast was good, but the food quality was not great and it did not have many options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your detailed review! We're thrilled to see that overall you had a great stay with us! Our breakfast menu rotates, so chances are next time there will be something different! We also trust that you brought the carpet issue to our attention while you were here, and it was taken care of right away. We can't wait to have you back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from valparaiso indiana

Nice place to stay near Navy Pier

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Everyone was very helpful. Only issue we experienced was with the elevator. Only one was working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to see that you had a great experience with us! Please come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prince Edward Island, Canada

Good value and only 1 block off form Michigan Ave.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, good location, nice kitchenette. Pull out sofa bed was comfortable.
Cons: Only 2 elevators which results in significant delays sometimes.
Location: One block from the Magnificent Mile close to the Wrigley building.Good place for families and shoppers.
A very comfortable stay with good complimentary breakfast. Was ony 1/2 block from my conference but more room and cheaper than the conference hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and you feel there was a good value to choosing our hotel. Please come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable bed

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Everything was fine, great staff, great location, but boring breakfast and terrible bed, too soft or maybe just really old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're happy to see that our staff did a great job, and you found our location convenient! We're sorry however, if the you didn't like our beds, those are typically what guests enjoy most, but we understand that not all have the same preference. We hope that you'll keep us in mind for your next visit!