Ratings based on 2,785 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy we chose the Intercontinental one more time

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Service is exceptional, even when they’re at full capacity due to the Festival of Lights. We’re glad that we chose the intercontinental, it’s privileged location in downtown Chicago provided convenient access to the Magnifocent mile, Navy pier and some cool paced that my wife knows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

First time to Chicago

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We visited Chicago after staying in Waukegan for our sons Navy bootcamp graduation. This hotel is in the heart of everything and the staff is amazing! From the concierge, to the front desk, to the manager who escorted us to a special event they were having for their guests the day we arrived! We were booked for a one night stay but, as it turns out, stayed another night because our flight was cancelled due to bad weather at home. The staff here was very helpful and accommodating and even got us a room upgrade. Would absolutely stay here again and have always had great experiences with Inter-Continental hotels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a kind review. It pleases us all to hear of such a pleasant stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in providing wonderful memories of our hotel and Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Great location on Michigan Avenue. Clean room, professional and courteous staff, great view, upscale decor, and on site Starbucks and Michael Jordan Cafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a kind review. It pleases us all to hear of such a pleasant stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in providing wonderful memories of our hotel and Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

still hearing street siren noise from 21st floor

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: location, downtown food, and shopping center
Cons: faster elevator
Location: downtown shopping, bar, food and drinks
nice executive suite i thought it's free bottle water but turned out 12$ elevator is confusing - too many segmentation on the elevator
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a thorough review. Our team is always looking to improve on our services. It pleases us all to hear that you did have a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Really nice hotel, enjoyed my brief stay here. Beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds. Wonderful and helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a kind review. It pleases us all to hear of such a pleasant stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in providing wonderful memories of our hotel and Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel Great Location

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Very pleased with this hotel and will defiantly stay again! The pool area is unbelievable. The only thing lacking were the hand towels in the room...time for some new ones!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear PR, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly try to refresh our inventory regularly. Hopefully we can welcome you back for an even more pleasant experience in the near future. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lombard,IL

Love long waiting time for elevators?

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great hotel in a great location. Downside, plan on long waiting times for elevators during peak usage times. Not unusual to have several packed elevaors stop at each floor that also have people waiting for several minutes to get on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear RJ, Thank you for your candid feedback. It looks like the week you are referring to we did have an unusually high number of groups in house as well as one elevator being maintenanced quickly one morning. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we can welcome you back for an even more pleasant experience. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4.5 star hotel!

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Starbucks and location
Cons: Renovate rooms
Outdated, not a 4.5 star hotel! Bathrooms need renovating and rooms have 3 drawers to put things in. Bathroom door opens into tiny bathroom allowing little room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid feedback. Our rooms are fairly new having our last renovation in 2015. Perhaps you would prefer a room in our Executive Tower, known for being more modern in style and larger in size. Hopefully we can welcome you back for an even more pleasant experience. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Weekend/Week

Posted Oct 5, 2017
In Chicago for busy weekend/week with a lot of functions to attend outside of the hotel. The hotel provide the perfect home base. Very comfortable and relaxing when there was down time, and very easy to get in and out when working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Bobbyg1960

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Location: Used CITY PASS to visit the Shedd aquarium, Sky Ledge at Willis tower & the Museum, all close to the hotel. Also enjoyed our visit to the Navy Pier
Great hotel and was very close to all the attractions that we visited. Front desk staff upgraded our room after learning that we were there for my wife's b-day! Jordan's Steakhouse in the hotel was very good as well!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Ronald, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Ronald Hoogerbrugge General Manager