Ratings based on 4,582 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff; outdated rooms

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The staff is very good but they can't make up for the condition of the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close To Everything

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Staff was very nice and friendly. Rooms were very nice. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location Room with an alley view

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great location. Nice rooftop bar Our very large two room suite looked out on an alley. The couch cushions had holes in the fabric When you open the windows it smelled like dead fish. Staff was very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: Coffee in lobby would be nice.
Accomondating and professional staff. Walking distance to many attractions. Would stay there again. Clean rooms. Rooftop bar was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Chicago option

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Location: In heart of downtown Chicago and right off of Magnificent Mile.
Everything was fine, but not special. Bell staff was not helpful and at times rude. Everything else was OK. Rooftop bar is great as is doughnut shop in lobby. Rooms are good and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location, tired facility

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The positives: The staff was friendly and the location was great. There is a terrific donut shop on the first floor and a great bar on the roof.
Cons: Update the VERY tired rooms
Location: We rented bikes and went to the natural history museum, Navy Pier, Millennium Park. Great dinner and bar locations within walking distance
The positives: The staff was friendly and the location was great. There is a terrific donut shop on the first floor and a great bar on the roof. The negatives: Our room, purportedly an "upgrade", was a very tired suite with stained and broken tiles in the bathroom, chipped paint, broken toilet paper dispenser, AC fan stuck on "high", stained carpet and furniture with a view of the back alley. Not sure what the upgrade was. Our coffee maker came with 2 cups and regular coffee makings for 2 cups (good thing we didn't want decaf). We went to the donut shop to buy coffee which was great, but the maid forgot to remove the empty cups from the counter when she cleaned the room. If you go, apparently there are renovated rooms, make sure you ask for one ahead of time. We did this at check-in and were told our room was an "up grade" (not so much) and when we complained they told us no renovated rooms were available. That said, we would go back as it is convenient and we would know what to ask for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Downtown Chicago

Posted Sep 8, 2017
An old hotel right in the center of downtown. Tiny elevators! No counters in bathrooms, air conditioner was not working (staff said "Open your windows". Requests for more linens/pillows granted quickly. Bellman were FANTASTIC! Valets super nice! Probably will choose another place next time. But if you can do "Vintage" this will be your spot. Photos on website are obviously not current.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room cleanness
Dirty and old carpet, dirty pillows, not at all clean. Not worth the money and star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Very pleasant surprise

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The Rafaello is a cozy, comfortable and clean hotel. It is in a great location few blocks south of the east end of the Magnificent Mile and a block from the lakefront. Very nice rooftop bar (60% inside) and spacious rooms. The adjacent Italian restaurant is not part of the hotel. It is very good but very expensive. Overall this hotel is good value for the price. Be sure to opt for the self park option as it is about half the cost of valet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington Heights

Just OK but the location is great

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location was everything.
Cons: Some parts of the room was old...
Location: Everything that Chicago has to offer is right at your fingertips.
WATCH FOR CHARGES FROM THE MINIBAR...I didn't touch a thing and was charged for a soda. Even though the total was only $3.41 it was stilladded! Imagine if every customer had that done & never paid attention...