Ratings based on 3,869 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great Stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Loved the breakfast and people!
Location: Great walking distance to several restaurants and shops.
We stayed at the Best Western due to the Red Roof Construction. The Best Western took us in gracefully and treated us wonderful
3 out of 5
by dwayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by delfino

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Water was cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Too bad they'll be closed all summer

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The staff was outstanding.
Location: The inn is a block east of Michigan Avenue -- lights on deciduous trees were spectacular. Everybody walks. Very safe. Convenient restaurants and shops
The window full of work permits should have been a tip-off, but it wasn't. I learned from the hotel staff they were closing March 1, 2017 for at least six months of renovations. All of them were looking for work. You couldn't tell they weren't going to be there forever from the gracious way every single member of the staff treated guests. I had a problem adjusting the room temperature -- it was 90 F. -- and they fixed it literally five minutes after I asked for help. I needed to run an errand the morning I checked out and the day manager offered to keep my suitcase behind her counter until I returned. I never asked -- she made the offer. The housekeeping staff all were equally pleasant and helpful. It'll be interesting to see what changes the new ownership makes because the lighting, plumbing, heating and security all worked perfectly. There were a few cosmetic details in terms of tiling adjacent to the bathroom door, and the elevator was extremely slow, but otherwise it was a perfectly pleasant place. Unlike most Red Roof Inns, they even had coffee makers in every room -- a big deal for people like me who don't do mornings well without coffee.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.

Its closing

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The red roof is closing 3/1 so its in shambles. Not a good place to stay 5th floor looked like a abandoned building
2 out of 5
by Chad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Weekend Getaway

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Good location. Bellhop tried to overcharge me and room smelt like smoke but only problems had with hotel. Nice mattress but sheets were kinda starchy. Good wifi connection. We had some unruly neighbors that were for sure making a drug deal next to us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Downtown

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Elevator issues. Only 1 working elevator for building.
2 out of 5
by Oscar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Elevators didn't open most of the time. Trash cans knocked over in middle of hallway. Unfriendly staff. Over priced parking. Charge for an hour over 5pm when they said it was 24 hrs. Would not recommend, nor will we stay again.