Ratings based on 3,003 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Lake Michigan and shops

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Hotel is out dated and needs a makeover. Carpet worn and rooms and beds need upgrades.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A not so Grand Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was excellent. Wait staff were very attentive. Restaurant and bar very reasonable and overall pleasant.
Cons: The rooms need complete refresh.
Location: Location is excellent. All major shops nearby and many restaurants.
One of the renowned old hotels in downtown Chicago. Still has glimpses of its former beautiful self but this lady needs a major indoor face lift. The rooms are no better than 3 star. Ceiling in the washroom showed signs of a leakage from above unit. Mould on the shower groat. The washroom is so small it could only fit a toilet that would even be too small for a young child. Utterly ridiculous. Room was generally quite small for the substantial price paid. The Hilton chain has taken over this hotel. As usual parking in Chicago is very expensive. Valet parking was $75.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overrated historical hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
When you think of iconic Chicago, naturally the Drake would be near the top of most people's list. My first stay couldn't have been more disappointing. The room was stuck in a corner with a closet immediately next to it. This means constant opening and closing of a door that sticks. In addition, the water in the shower would alternate between freezing cold and scalding hot. I complained multiple times, I was told engineering would look at it. No one ever did. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Nice hotel close to lake shore, upscale shopping and a short walk to the red line that took us right to Wrigley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olathe, KS

Nice hotel right across from Oak St Beach!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Exquisite hotel. The floral arrangements were gorgeous. Comfy beds. Great location!
Cons: The rooms were a bit small. Up-charges for most extras.
Location: Right across from Oak St Beach. Located on Michigan Ave, lots of restaurants & shops within short walking distance. Cheap Uber or Lyft to attractions.
The Drake is a beautiful hotel inside & out. The lobby & tea room/lounge are gorgeous; both with large, colorful floral arrangements. The bathrooms are updated & nice-looking (no air vent, however). The bed was very comfortable & the TV worked well (HBO included - nice!). When we checked in, we were not happy with our view of what I think was a fire escape, particularly because our friends received a partial ocean view for the same rate. I requested a room change, and although we weren't able to get a partial ocean view, we were able to overlook Michigan Avenue, which was way better than the fire escape or whatever. There was a mini bar in the room, but I would've preferred a mini fridge for water bottles, etc. The closet was spacious, with plenty of hangers & a full-length mirror on the inside of the door. There was a desk with a mirror above it, which was handy. A small dresser with drawers would have been nice, so we didn't have to leave folded clothes in our suitcase. The "artwork" on the walls could be updated. Women's restroom in the lobby/lounge area was FANCY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to high end shopping on mag mile

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Very friendly service nice rooms good breakfast clean hotel close to shopping on magnificant mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel, but needing some updates

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: location, history
Cons: bathroom plumbing
Location: Shopping, the beach, Navy Pier is near as well. Short walk to Rush street
Our room overlooked the lake and was very nice except the tub shower didn't drain and we needed a voodoo priest to figure out the hot water/cold water combo that wouldn't alternatively scald or freeze us. The bed was comfortable and the other amenities were nice, I think the room was a bit overpriced for the room, but it is a great location and an iconic hotel. The staff was excellent and very friendly. definitely a professional group there. I have stayed here a few times and I have decided that for the price and the location, they really should consider some major renovations to be on top of their game. Don't get me wrong, this is not like the ageing Allerton or some of the other hotels which used to be 5 star locations and have let themselves go, The Drake has been updated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a fabulous stay in Drake

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The only 2 things we didn't like were the hotel didn't have a microwave and we were too low could hear all the traffic and Direct TV has issues
Cons: Need to have microwaves Need larger refrigerator or put their beverages in another frige Darker or light out shades
Location: Perfect!!
Our stay was fabulous at Drake...Customer service was great.. The room was very clean, roomy an comfortable.... For our anniversary they left us a bottle of champagne... Very nice stay and right next to lots of restaurants, stores and the beach!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Iconic

Posted Jul 4, 2017
3rd time to stay at the Drake. Unbelievable location especially in summer. We brought our bikes and biked the Lakeshore. Service tremendous. Very comfortable. Restaurants everywhere. Food at hotel great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT CHARACTER HOTEL

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Was a great older character hotel. Right at the top end of Magnificent Mile. Took the King suite. A very sapcious room. A little older but clean. Everything you need. And when you're tires at the end of the day, they have a cute little piano bar downstairs. Dont have to leave the hotel.