Ratings based on 2,496 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The Gwen is a quality hotel placed in a great location on the Magnificent Mile. The river and lake are walking distance and there is shopping everywhere around. One drawback is that the hotel is located above the shopping mall so getting to your room requires taking two separate elevators. On our last day one of the access elevators to the street level was inoperative so that required us to take the other access elevator forcing us to walk around the block. That was inconvenient. Overall it is a good hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by PJ, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Hotel was fantastic and located within walking distance to 360 Chicago, Malls, restaurants, and Art Institute...hotel and bar staff were superb!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by PJ, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for staying at The Gwen! We hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Comfort and location in heart of Chicago

Posted Sep 14, 2017
We booked a king double room. It was very spacious with huge bathroom including bath. Cleaned to perfection every day. Huge comfortable bed. So quiet. Great location. Bridge from hotel to Nordstroms. Right in the centre of Michigan Ave so an easy walk North to Oak St Beach and south the Millenium Park and Art Institute. Ramon the Concierge was so helpful advising restaurants and places to go. The Gwen made us feel right at home in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI.

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: City convenience, cleanliness, professionalism and courteousness of staff
Cons: Cost of valet service
Location: It's "Chicago" - - SO much to do and this location is right in the heart of it!!
Was in town from Milwaukee to go to the Zac Brown concert at Wrigley Field... making a weekend of it and was not let down one bit. The Gwen is everything I was looking for - clean, a personable staff creating a fun and welcoming atmosphere, good size room with a great bathroom - again... clean, shower & tub, separated and convenient. The valet service was quick and easy (although a little pricey at $70). Dining area was great - good hours of service, as well as 24-hour room service if needed. The room that I had didn't have much of a view, which I'll have to look into 'the next time I stay here' - - but thank you to the Gwen staff, you run a nice hotel... no complaints and a recommendation to all reading that you won't be disappointed staying here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Eh it was ok.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The room.
Cons: Speed. Seems the staff move in slow motion.
Location: Location is in the heart of River North so if you want nightclubs and downtown at your doorstep this is your place.
PROS: The room was clean. The bathroom was great. The bed was comfy. Huge TV. CONS: Not a very big room (and this was after an upgrade at the desk), loud speaking in the morning as if there was an exercise class of some sort next door and lastly, the staff was friendly, just so slow. We had check out at 10am. 9:50 we called for a cart to take our bags down. Had to call 3 times to get a cart not sure what the confusion was. At about 10:20 we finally got to the desk and had to wait some more because there was a line of people waiting to check in and out. Only 1 person actively handling the desk while the other was speaking to guests. The hotel isn't bad, but not really sure it was worth the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The location of this hotel is perfect! Close to everything The staff was very accommodating and made for a great stay in Chicago. I would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham , AL

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very centrally located and extremely quiet being in the middle of everything . A very nice hotel. I got a great rate for my weekend stay which made it even nicer. I would definitely stay there again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel I've stayed at

Posted Aug 28, 2017
From beginning to end, the gwen and its staff was the best hotel experience we've ever had!! Thank you Ramon and Arante! Can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location and very friendly, helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: A little more ambience and warmth to lobby area
Location: Everything a visitor would want is close by
Very pleased with our stay at the Gwen. Incredibly central location, large comfortable rooms, and staff that was ready and willing to do whatever we needed. Only thing to really comment on is lobby and rooms feel a little sterile and cold, albeit stylish. Maybe some art or splash of colour or something to warm things up. Small complaint though when you consider all of the many positives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the friendly staff
Location: you could walk to everywhere from the hotel
Ramon Gomez is one the concierge at the hotel. He bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable, came up with great places for dinner, got tickets to events and tried to save us money rather than buying from a broker, looked at options ie buying directly from the box office. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made sure our stay was enjoyable.