Ratings based on 2,478 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great location with extremely helpful and customer oriented staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Close to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Michigan avenue shopping, the lakefront, great restaurants.
We had a great time. The hotel is located close to everything. We parked the car and walked everywhere. The staff was friendly and super helpful. The hotel is first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect locaion

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Best part about the hotel is the staff. Very helpful at check-in, acknowledged my daughter's 16th birthday with a treat in the room, doormen were always welcoming and friendly. Hotel lobby is cool and spacious but could use some art, flowers or something to warm it up. Chic but AA bit sterile design. Overall, excellent stay in a hotel with ideal location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
The hotel is in a great central location with great transport links. The hotel itself is really lovely. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hidden Gem! You have to stay here!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Luxurious hotel. Tremendous rooms. Huge bathrooms. Great patio and restaurant.
Cons: Nothing-this hotel is perfect!!
Location: We were there for a Pearl Jam concert. We were a short car ride from Wrigley Field. We were within walking distance of restaurants and shopping.
The Gwen is a hidden gem! It is a beautiful, or shall I say gorgeous hotel. It's hidden and many people have never heard of it. But wow! I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are tremendous! And clean! The bathrooms are huge and luxurious! I just can't say enough about this hotel! The front desk staff, bar staff, and restaurant staff were all superb. We had breakfast at their restaurant. It was delicious! We sat outside on the patio and a few drinks. It was perfect and relaxing! When I booked this hotel I was a little worried because it was so reasonable! But it is by far the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at! I have stayed at many other hotels and paid a lot more money for rooms that are no where near as nice as this one! If you're going to Chicago, you have to stay at The Gwen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Comfortable room, love the bathroom! Quick check-in. Rooms are decorated nicely. Robes and slippers are provided. Also, nice rooftop!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Awesome location with super easy access off of Michigan ave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park

great location newly renovated

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The location is a 5 minute walk from the redline train. Walking distance to Navy pier. It looks and feels like a luxury hotel. The rooftop patio just off the lobby would be perfect if the service could step it up. Both times we tried Having drinks and snacks there it took about 30 minutes to get a beer or wine, and 1 hr for a burger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The staff was great and the hotel was laid out in an awesome fashion. I would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great location, amazing rooftop, comfy and clean rooms. Staff are helpful and it's close to shopping.