Ratings based on 601 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklin IN

nitcak's restaurant

Posted Jul 24, 2017
the hotel was pleasing and staff were super nice. the restaurant on the other hand was pricier than what their website said and we were sat at a table with water leaking through the roof and VERY noisy atmosphere. would not go to joined restaurant again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Pleasant Hotel from the Old School

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It was an all-around good stay for me.
Cons: Some refresh of the facility e.g. stairwell (re-plaster and paint), new toilets, shower and vanity hardware. Nothing major, just a few touch-ups.
Location: A half-block from the John Hancock building and Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile). Need I say more.
Older facility that I found to possess good charm and comfort. Very professional helpful friendly staff. Great location if you're looking to immerse yourself in the mix of downtown Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great location. Beautiful hotel. Great staff. Big modern rooms. Only average thing about it was breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and very clean

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Overall experience was phenomenal. The staff was very accommodating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Run down. Not recommended.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Hotel is not being maintained. Front desk less then helpful. Air vent in bathroom filthy. Chipping paint. Elevators barely functional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Nice hotel near everything.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Little updates in bathroom
Location: 1 block from the Handcock building and Big Bus stop. Many stores, restaurants and cafés near by. Walkable distance from just about everything,
Check-in was a breeze. Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. Conviniently located near many attractions. Continental breakfast very good and affordable (under 10$). Bathroom in our roam could have used a facelift though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seal beach, ca

Great Location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
For what I enjoy doing, this location is great. Close to the lake (nice easy walk) and Navy Pier. Close proximity to great bars. Dublin's, Mother's Too, The Lodge. The Hotel has a great bar as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downingtown, PA

Close to everything

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: close to everything
Cons: staff should not have to be asked to replace standard items in the room. There should be an ice bucket in each room.
Location: Location is great walking distance to every where
Nice place.right around the corner to Michigan Ave. American Girl Place and John Hancock building are right down the street. The place could use a freshening up. The bathroom wall paper is peeling off, the bathroom sink had a chunk of marble out of the counter. Staff had to be asked to replace cups in the bathroom and at the coffee pot. We had a beautiful view out of our corner room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Location can't be beat.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: We love the location.
Cons: We liked the finishes before the last improvements. It is better as a turn of the century lobby.
Location: The redline is very close and can get you to a central loop connect at lake and can get you to Lincoln Park fast. It is central to the Mile also.
We love this location, staff and the hotel. While it is a little worn my wife and I know that it is clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Stayed next door at the Tremont suites

Posted May 18, 2017
When I checked in in the nice and clean lobby, I was told they were sold out and that I was next door at the tremont suites. I at first thought that was very weird... but I followed. The building next door is unlocked with a room key, and then you go into a circle of three doors where you go straight to the top one and go into a very old building. The lights didn't light up behind the numbers in the elevator, so I took the tiny flight of stairs to room 211 which was the only room on the floor. The other rooms were all their corporate offices. I still thought it was odd until I saw the huge suite. It was well decorated and very large. No fridge was there nor anything that made it a suite besides a couple chairs, but it was a great size and kind of neat being separated. I felt like I was in my own personal apartment. The bathroom was old but clean. I wish the hotel had a gym but other reviews say you can go of the Westin next door to use their gym. I was only there one night so I didn't get to use the gym. The beds were comfy and I slept like a rock. I recommend this hotel if you're ok without a gym, but I can't speak for the actual hotel rooms because I never even saw one.